Erica Enders-Stevens Voted RACER of the Year


Erica Enders-Stevens wins her first RACER of Year Award as voted by RACER magazine voters. Erica unanimously won the award over racers John Force, Kevin Harvick, and Lewis Hamilton. It was also no surprise that Erica won the Drag Racer of the Year award as well; finishing over John Force and Matt Hagan.

Erica Enders on the win:

“Being named RACER of the Year ranks right up there with winning the championship. It’s always a special feeling to be chosen for awards and I’m thankful for all the fans who took the time to vote for us.
“I have an awesome team – owner Richard Freeman, crew chiefs Rick and Rickie Jones, engine guys Jake Hairston and Nick Ferri, and the rest of our extended crew at Elite. We always say ‘team work makes the dream work’ and that team work allowed us to win six races and the K&N Horsepower Challenge.

“No woman had ever won the NHRA Pro Stock title – nor the RACER of the Year award! – so I’m humbled to be the first. I always wanted to be thought of as a racer, not just a ‘female racer,’ but I recognize my place in history – even though sometimes I don’t believe it!

“Shirley Muldowney was one of my heroes growing up, and I learned a lot from her and Angelle Sampey during my career. We are just a small part of a growing fraternity of women who are chasing their goals in all forms of motorsports.
“Thanks again for your votes and this wonderful award.”


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Copyright © 2005-2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands
All Rights Reserved.