regulator

Old 02-26-2010, 08:45 AM
  #11  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

Yeah it is different from track to track :!: :!:
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:35 AM
  #12  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Originally Posted by mopar1968
Yeah it is different from track to track :!: :!:
Technically not legal Mark, but a lot of tracks are lax on rules. I know 3 NHRA tracks that donot even tech the cars. At Memphis, you teched one time and after that you just took the teck card up to the tower when you came in, Twin Cities doesn't even have a tech crew or scales,(they do get excited if you run too fast and the car is not certified) and now Holly Springs, is an NHRA track doesn't have a tech crew. The BAD, is we are NHRA members for the insurance in case of an accident (at least i am) and if there is an accident with injuries and the car is found to be illegal, the insurance isn't worth squat wheather it was teched or not.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:49 AM
  #13  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

I agree zip the little 1/8 mile track i go to doesn't tech cars, You roll thru the gate pay your money they hand you a card fill it out take to tower, and wham-bam your racing :!: :!: I race at Bristol Dragway nothing said about it, I have raced at Z-max in concord N.C. Summit raceway park nothing said so i don't know.


''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 03:48 PM
  #14  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

our tracks up here always tech and if something lil is wrong, they might let you run once, but next time must be fixed, if it is something major, you load it back up and go home, you dont run, that has happened to a few of my friends, but it does make for a safer track
spib is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:22 PM
  #15  
qtrmile2
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moscow Mills, Mo.
Posts: 533
Default

All of ours are mounted Mark. Always on the fenderwells. I think I mounted one on the firewall and they made me move it years ago.
qtrmile2 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:50 PM
  #16  
JimmySmith
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Batesville Ms.
Posts: 167
Default

Mopar 68, Not trying to be a know it all BUT if you ever saw what a flexplate can do coming out you would not have the regulator on the firewall. On my car when on carb the fuel line is in a 12" pipe by the flywheel area. Do Not Want a FIRE. I have been a tech man , Track manager NHRA and racer for 50 years.
I think some of the rules are a little picky but not this one Later J.Smith 4621 racing
JimmySmith is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:52 PM
  #17  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Here is the read from the 2009 rule book, rule 1:5

Zip.

zipper06 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:28 PM
  #18  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

All i am saying is i have ran it this way for years, and have see alot of others like this and nothing has been said about it, Now i am sure if my car ran 5.0 1/8 or8.0 or 9.0 1/4 then something might be said.
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:47 PM
  #19  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

heres my thoughts go to the track you plan on racing at see what majority are running and go from there but thats just my 2 cents
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 10:07 AM
  #20  
Scooterz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE,OR.
Posts: 3,402
Default

I am relocating mine as we speak from the front (near the rad/overflow) to the inside of fender. I see why some go to the firewall, as there is little room if you have no fender wells such as mine. I have little space to work with & still have decent hood/clearance. It makes sense... the thought of a flywheel coming up & causing carnage would go through the fuel lines like a hot knife through budda.
Scooterz is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -