Might want to crawl inot a hole after this BUT........

Old 08-01-2009, 07:15 PM
  #21  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default

Now as I am getting into building a car for the strip... What is better? A SB or a BB? As in easier to work on, parts availablity, Horsepower, ETC, ETC??
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 07:58 PM
  #22  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,578
Default

I say throw them both in the trash and go with a ''MOPAR''


JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''


http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/163312
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:36 PM
  #23  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

You need a Mustang GT COP car with a 4 bolt main Corvette motor. The ultimate hot rod.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:49 PM
  #24  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default Cop car???

I try to stay away from being inside a cop car. if I put a "Chevy" motor in a stang its gonna be a big one like a 572 maybe??
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 09:16 PM
  #25  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default Re: Cop car???

Originally Posted by DirkaDirka
I try to stay away from being inside a cop car. if I put a "Chevy" motor in a stang its gonna be a big one like a 572 maybe??
:lol: I heard that! You and me both.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 04:22 PM
  #26  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default

OK question? Did chevy build a 302? Cuz I could have swore that they built a 305. I saw this and it got me wondering.


http://www.racingjunk.com/category/3...converter.html
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:19 PM
  #27  
99nhra3pro1
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, The chevy 302 was used in the first couple years z28's. They were a strong runner. They also made a ton of 307's, & 305's, which were more of a basic transportation motor.
99nhra3pro1 is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:26 PM
  #28  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default

Honestly I did not know that. when someone said that they had a 302 in their chevy i always took it that they had a 305 so it my bad. I guess you learn something new everyday
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 03:27 AM
  #29  
outlaw256
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: falkville al
Posts: 1,765
Default

yea they made the 302.mine was strong for a short while.blew the bottom end ALL over rt 19 in hanover park.second one i blew the bottom end ALL OVER rt19 in elgin,il. they either had a weak bottom end or i should have stayed off rt19!!chevy has made the 265,283 267.302.305,307 327.350,400 s.b.
outlaw256 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service