GEAR ?

Old 06-13-2009, 07:40 PM
  #21  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

I am not saying it's ok to cheat....BUT, 2 questions

1) What is the advantage of the delay box shifting for you vs the MSD box?

2) How the heck would you get caught?
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:02 AM
  #22  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by Tod74
I am not saying it's ok to cheat....BUT, 2 questions

1) What is the advantage of the delay box shifting for you vs the MSD box?

2) How the heck would you get caught?
I guess nhra/ihra think people can control rpms by it, Ive never seen it happen. You can still use the box to shift by time as it will work good.

Tech checks them around here at most places tells ya to turn the delay box on and go to the screen
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:31 AM
  #23  
vega34
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: east tn
Posts: 114
Default

Originally Posted by hammertime
Originally Posted by Tod74
I am not saying it's ok to cheat....BUT, 2 questions

1) What is the advantage of the delay box shifting for you vs the MSD box?

2) How the heck would you get caught?
I guess nhra/ihra think people can control rpms by it, Ive never seen it happen. You can still use the box to shift by time as it will work good.

Tech checks them around here at most places tells ya to turn the delay box on and go to the screen


you can use the mega box to shift by time,but not rpm,,thats crazy,,i just had a friend to tell me thats the way his is and thats the way i should do it,i don't know myself,,,,steve
vega34 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:40 AM
  #24  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by vega34
Originally Posted by hammertime
Originally Posted by Tod74
I am not saying it's ok to cheat....BUT, 2 questions

1) What is the advantage of the delay box shifting for you vs the MSD box?

2) How the heck would you get caught?
I guess nhra/ihra think people can control rpms by it, Ive never seen it happen. You can still use the box to shift by time as it will work good.

Tech checks them around here at most places tells ya to turn the delay box on and go to the screen


you can use the mega box to shift by time,but not rpm,,thats crazy,,i just had a friend to tell me thats the way his is and thats the way i should do it,i don't know myself,,,,steve
correct, if he won and someone said look at his box for a tach .. he'd be screwed thats been a rule 3yrs now atleast
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:41 AM
  #25  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

you dont have your yellow/gray wire backwards on the RAS do ya ?

they are pretty easy to wire
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:34 AM
  #26  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Steve are you running gas or alcohol, if you're running alcohol i think you have something left in it yet. When i first built my 377" motor, i put it in my friends 1850lb hardtail, we put 2 7/16" stacks on it, 456 gear, 16X33's, 5500 stall 1.76 PG. Leaving on a 4200 chip and shifting at 6800, it ran 5.16, with 1.14 60 ft. at Memphis. We pulled the high side chip out and ran 8.23 @ 158 in the qtr.
We ran the car at Super Chevy 2005 at Memphis and dialed 5.15 and broke out in the 3rd round with a 5.14. Never looked at the recall on the tach, but i'm sure it was zinging on the qtr. mile pass. i still have the motor in my Malibu but with a toilet bowl. Of course it don't run worth a crap in my car because it doesn't have enough torque for a 3200 lb car, best [email protected] and [email protected]

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:42 AM
  #27  
vega34
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: east tn
Posts: 114
Default

zip i'm running gas,,david i'm sending you some pictures and wiring on this thing to your email,,,steve
vega34 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 12:14 PM
  #28  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by vega34
zip i'm running gas,,david i'm sending you some pictures and wiring on this thing to your email,,,steve
Ill give them a look over and shoot ya a reply here after a bit got a few things to do today
hammertime is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -