How big of a carb????

Old 05-20-2009, 09:48 PM
  #21  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

old 305 had more power hell with same intake carb ignition on half drad 305 could boil hides not now has 255 75 15s on rear
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:42 PM
  #22  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

Originally Posted by dragonmaster093
gears stock cam real ruff idle 32 degrees i know it has torque and power dog off line but will haul ass
I would Bump the timing up to 36-38 deg.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 11:53 PM
  #23  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

ill try that
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 03:44 AM
  #24  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 254
Default how big of a carb.???

Whitey, did you get youre carb situation straight? Kris
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 09:40 PM
  #25  
justin45
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: odessa texas
Posts: 103
Default

go with a 700 holley
justin45 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:51 PM
  #26  
whitey70ss
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Default

Thanks for askin kris! I just got my oil leaks fixed and decided to put the victor jr intake on and a 750 dp . I havent got to tune the carb yet nor do I know enough about these double pumpers to mess with it. But for just throwing it on and setting the Idle it works very good. I have a slight dead spot just off idle but I dont know where to start looking.
whitey70ss is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:10 PM
  #27  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 254
Default CARB

Check youre timing first. Get a vacuum gauge hook it to a full vac. port, set the mixture at idle looking at the gauge. Try it out, if that dont get it then its time to adjust the accelerator pump, NOT TOO MUCH AT ONE TIME. What type of distributer are you using? Keep us posted.

Kris
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:19 PM
  #28  
whitey70ss
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Default

msd pro billet distributor. When you say adjust the mixture per the gauge. What exactly am I looking for??
whitey70ss is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 09:45 PM
  #29  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

Adjust the idle mixture screws (the small ones on the metering block) to achieve the highest vacuum.

Bump your timing up to at least 38

Getting some taller gears would be a big help too.
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 03:56 PM
  #30  
whitey70ss
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Default

I have a vacuum brake bleeder with a gauge on it will this work?? As for the gears I want this to be a little more cruise friendly I have a nova with 4:11's and 25 in. tire not real cruise friendly. :lol: This chevelle has 3:73's and 26in. tire, seems to work well for all the more I've driven it.
whitey70ss is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -