How big of a carb????

Old 04-15-2009, 08:02 AM
  #11  
bowhay
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Default

i think a holley 670 would suit u just fine

but a 700 would also work
bowhay is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:14 PM
  #12  
whitey70ss
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Default

I CALLED EDELBROCK TECH LINE TODAY i TALKED WITH ONE OF THE TECH GUYS HE TOLD ME THE PERFORMER INTAKE WAS LOSING POWER HE SAID I SHOULD HAVE AT LEAST A PERFORMER RPM OR IF I DONT MIND LOSING A LITTLE BOTTOM END TQ GO WITH A VICTOR. HE RECOMENDED A THUNDER SERIES CARB IN 800CFM?? DOES THIS SOUND RIGHT?? HE SAID WITH THAT COMBO AND MY CAM I SHOULD BE IN THE 430-440 HP RANGE?? DOES THAT SOUND RIGHT OR IS THIS GUY JUST OVER RATING HIS PARTS?? :roll:
whitey70ss is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 06:39 PM
  #13  
cncmotorsports
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brookings South Dakota
Posts: 244
Default

AED 650 Holley

http://www.cnc-motorsports.com/produ...ID=7757&CtgID=

You will be very happy with the performance.

This is what i would use for you application.
cncmotorsports is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 07:40 PM
  #14  
whitey70ss
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Default

thanks for the info cncmotorsports I actually just got a 750 dp for cheap! would anyone go ahead and try this carb or should I sell it and get the 650dp?? Can I jet this 750 to work good for my combo?
whitey70ss is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 01:35 PM
  #15  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Smaller is always better. You have higher velocity and the carb is working in it's "center range".
I remember being young trying to imporss everone by having huge carbs on the street. I ended up using both feet to keep it running!! Anyone else learned the hard way??
oldandtired is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:14 AM
  #16  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: i went from 750 to 650 also

Originally Posted by bobby36
i have 358 14.5-1 motor heads flow 230 cfm started with 750 went 7.53 with a 1,59 60 ft then put a 650 on it went 7.17 with a 1.46 60 ft and i dont understand that unless my 750 was not right
I'm thinking the 750 wasn't right.
Thats a pretty healthy sounding motor and they usually love more air and fuel.
JMO> Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:29 AM
  #17  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: How big of a carb????

Originally Posted by whitey70ss
Hi I'm new to racing junk and am putting together a 70 chevelle with a smallblock and a muncie with 3.73 gears. The specs on the engine are (350 .60 over, edelbrock performer RPM heads, isky cam 505 lift 292 duration, 244 duration at .050. It has good headers,free flowing exhaust. I ran this combo with a 600 edelbrock carb and have been thinking of switching to a holley. I feel that the quadrajunk style carb is holding it back?? Any and all info is appreciated! THANKS WHITEY.
I'd say yes, that 600cfm hunkajunk performer has to be holding you back,they make great boat anchors though.


I put a mild pump gas 351W in the boys 89 GT mustang, similar set- up as yours, performer heads and intake, 500 something lift hydralic cam, shorty headers, flows, 373's, msd 6al box.
We're runnnig a 750 double pumper W/ 30cc acellerator pumps front and rear, 78 square on the jetting (no power valve) and a pro-form center section.

Best ET so far - 7.50 in a tad short 1/8 >
not bad for a ford I thought.


Goodluck, Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 09:42 PM
  #18  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

ive got a simular motor but only 8.5 compressionported and polished heads edelbrock performer intake 1inch spacer and accel cap rotor wires (motor was a dirt track imca sport mod motor) has 600 holley but for some reason i dont seem to make any real torque its in a 77 monte carlo with th350 and 2000 b&m torque master converter any ideas dont have headers yet
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:28 PM
  #19  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

Originally Posted by dragonmaster093
ive got a simular motor but only 8.5 compressionported and polished heads edelbrock performer intake 1inch spacer and accel cap rotor wires (motor was a dirt track imca sport mod motor) has 600 holley but for some reason i dont seem to make any real torque its in a 77 monte carlo with th350 and 2000 b&m torque master converter any ideas dont have headers yet
Wow 77 monte, them things are tuna boats, it's gonna take alot of torque to get that thing moving.
Whats your timing set at?

If it was a dirt car motor, chances are the cam is a high winding piece, you might need to swap it out for a cam more suitable to your needs.
Also what rear gearing do you have?
Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:43 PM
  #20  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

gears stock cam real ruff idle 32 degrees i know it has torque and power dog off line but will haul ass
dragonmaster093 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service