Fuel pressure problem

Old 08-05-2008, 07:56 PM
  #11  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

Well i don't know, all i know is when i look at the gauge it is against the needle stop @ 15 psi, i am sure it will pump more due to having to run a regulator with it. Just checked summit website 15 psi is max pressure. Just thought i would let you know this on my cuda not my dart.
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:05 PM
  #12  
Scooterz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE,OR.
Posts: 3,402
Default

WTH?? as I have said before, I am no expert, but this is pretty abc... that is frustrating!! So you are maxed out psi, 2 guages, no overflow/flooding, reg is good, but adjustments make no difference. No return. depending if there were any blockage, I would think that would lower the psi... thinking out loud here.... I wonder if air is getting in.... causing this somehow. Pump sucking air & forcing it in the fuel lines???
Scooterz is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:13 PM
  #13  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

I f this helps this started when i made a intake and carb swap, this is when we noticed fuel pressure, let me ask a dumb question, If the filter before the pump is dirty seem's like the pump might pump harder to get fuel to engine? less flow to pump from cell?
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:20 PM
  #14  
Scooterz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE,OR.
Posts: 3,402
Default

Heres the thing... in terms of knowing what you are doing, you are probably more expirenced than I. But this is something simple I think... I don't know that your filter being dirty is the cause (depending on style) but I wonder if it is like the "AN" style like on mine witch could cause more pressure if backwards... it would be easy to do, & not so easy to notice. (They look the same ft to back)
Scooterz is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:30 PM
  #15  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

Never had filter off or any lines loose since building car, only lines @ regulator for intake swap. then bam this happens? Filter is a russel 8an style in line filter.
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:44 PM
  #16  
Scooterz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE,OR.
Posts: 3,402
Default

This is hurting my brain... the psi should not be relavent to an intake/carb swap.... WTH?? I am going to ask my race-eng mentor tommorrow & see what he says. when you fix this, please let us know what you find too... this would frustrate the hell out of me if it were my ride.
Scooterz is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:47 PM
  #17  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

I am a auto tech by trade for 27 years and it has me baffeled, tried everything, before coming here and looking stupid.
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 06:58 AM
  #18  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by mopar1968
I am a auto tech by trade for 27 years and it has me baffeled, tried everything, before coming here and looking stupid.
I am baffeled also here, been thinking and I am going to say we are missing something esay on it.

Does the gauge read the same no matter if the engine compartment is warm or not ? I've had gauges go screwy on me when the motor gets warm.
hammertime is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 07:14 AM
  #19  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

no doesn't matter hot or cold
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:00 PM
  #20  
fishman1
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: alberta,canada
Posts: 166
Default

If the filter is before the pump and the filter was plugged the pump would caviate and you would loose pressure and flow

take your gauge and run it into the fuel rails that go into the front and back of the carb and see what happens.

also if u have liquid filled gauge drain the fluid out of the gauge as the fluid is glcerin if i know how to spell and fuel gauges are recommend dry to read probably

if you really had 15 psi at the carb your seats and needles wouldn't seat and you would flood the carb as they are designed for 9 psi

Like i said the gauge and mounting location has to be the problem, or i could be wrong but i would try it
fishman1 is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -