HELP WITH RE-WIRE

Old 05-28-2008, 07:14 PM
  #11  
mwestchevy
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: decatur, il.
Posts: 14
Default

thanks for all the info! the k&r setup looks like a nice piece but i decided on using the painless stuff. it went in real nice & quick. i am very impressed with it. it may be a little more money but the time saved and ease of installation was well worth it to me. thanks, brian
mwestchevy is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 02:17 AM
  #12  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by johnracer
Ironically, I just had a problem with my K&R this Saturday. It really wasn't a problem with the setup, more a matter of me being lazy and not rechecking the screws that attach the wiring to the relay board.
I was sitting in the water box in the final round and the fuel pump quit! Melted the terminal strip on the board.
Spoke withe Kevin at K&R yesterday. Really nice people to deal with and offered to repair it under warrantee. Bought a new board anyway due to racing in Denver this weekend, and will send the other in for a spare.
Can't say enough good about K&R customer service,
Johnny
You should get the stud mount this time, a bit better setup.
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 07:11 AM
  #13  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Originally Posted by hammertime
Originally Posted by johnracer
Ironically, I just had a problem with my K&R this Saturday. It really wasn't a problem with the setup, more a matter of me being lazy and not rechecking the screws that attach the wiring to the relay board.
I was sitting in the water box in the final round and the fuel pump quit! Melted the terminal strip on the board.
Spoke withe Kevin at K&R yesterday. Really nice people to deal with and offered to repair it under warrantee. Bought a new board anyway due to racing in Denver this weekend, and will send the other in for a spare.
Can't say enough good about K&R customer service,
Johnny
You should get the stud mount this time, a bit better setup.
That was my thought too, but Kevin said it wasn't a direct swap for the terminal strip model. I went with a replacement instead....
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:51 AM
  #14  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

he is correct there is a few differences in them. either one is a nice setup.
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:07 AM
  #15  
OneBadGMC
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 658
Default

Originally Posted by mwestchevy
thanks for all the info! the k&r setup looks like a nice piece but i decided on using the painless stuff. it went in real nice & quick. i am very impressed with it. it may be a little more money but the time saved and ease of installation was well worth it to me. thanks, brian
Sorry to hear that. I have the Painless panel and it's nothing but a pain.

2 switches have failed, and most of the lights have burnt out on the switches.

There is no amperage being run through the panel, as every circuit is on a relay.

Nothing like being in eliminations and not having the starter switch work... POS.
OneBadGMC is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 11:49 AM
  #16  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by OneBadGMC
Originally Posted by mwestchevy
thanks for all the info! the k&r setup looks like a nice piece but i decided on using the painless stuff. it went in real nice & quick. i am very impressed with it. it may be a little more money but the time saved and ease of installation was well worth it to me. thanks, brian
Sorry to hear that. I have the Painless panel and it's nothing but a pain.

2 switches have failed, and most of the lights have burnt out on the switches.

There is no amperage being run through the panel, as every circuit is on a relay.

Nothing like being in eliminations and not having the starter switch work... POS.
Try being in @ 7 cars at a 50k to win race and having a start switch take a crap .... boy does that hurt
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 12:07 PM
  #17  
Racefab57
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 557
Default

I use the ARC ( auto rod control) setup its fairly cheap but : works great! I used the control panel with the NOS switches in it and I like it very much. There good to deaL with also !! The wiring harness is great, relay panel is kool and they have a fairly new one thats very neat and spaceage, (for nitrous) David. Good luck to wiring your cars,I enjoy it, its kind of fun!!!
Racefab57 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -