Carb Size - BBC

Old 01-11-2008, 07:22 AM
  #11  
JLSTOEC
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Do you guys have any thoughts on intake manifolds for a setup like mine? I hear alot of guys running Edelbrock intakes. My Brodix HV is basically untouched so Im wondering if I should have it worked on or buy something different.
JLSTOEC is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:24 PM
  #12  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default intake

I would clean some of the casting up and gasket match and use the intake you have.
lanham is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:39 PM
  #13  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default Re: carb

Originally Posted by lanham
I like a super victor intake.Call pro sytems and ask if the 1250 is too big.A buddy of mine just got a pro systems carb and they recommended a 1200cfm for his motor and it is a 540.He had a 1050 quickfuel and put the pro systems carb on and picked up about a half a tenth.
damn...probably spent 1100 bucks and picked up half a tenth. :?
Tod74 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:50 PM
  #14  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Here's my 2 cents. The 1250 is probably a LITTLE to big, but since you already have it it's free. Right? It might actually run a little quicker and faster with a little too big carb, but consistency will suffer. A 1050 would be more consistent. JMO. I'd try the 1250 and see if it does what you want after proper tuning.....
johnracer is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:37 PM
  #15  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default carb

Tod74 the carb was just a little over $900 and picked up a half tenth on an already perfectly tuned engine.The car runs 5.30's 1/8 at 2500lbs on gas.The engine is a n/a conventional head 540ci.Just think if he went to alcohol.
lanham is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 08:09 PM
  #16  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: carb

Originally Posted by lanham
Tod74 the carb was just a little over $900 and picked up a half tenth on an already perfectly tuned engine.The car runs 5.30's 1/8 at 2500lbs on gas.The engine is a n/a conventional head 540ci.Just think if he went to alcohol.
How do you pick up a half a tenth of a perfectly tuned motor :?: :lol:
I am on board to get this answer :shock:
hammertime is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:39 PM
  #17  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default carb

It had a 1050 Quickfuel carb, was perfectly tuned the car ran 5.40s, then switched to the 1200 pro systems carb and after that it ran in the 30s with only a carb swap.I am not trying to sell their carb,this is just the good experiences i have seen with pro systems.
lanham is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:02 PM
  #18  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Good tuned 1150 gas carb on 565 sent it to APD to work there magic picked up .15 ... both Pro Systems and APD have there stuff together on gas stuff ...
hammertime is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 03:14 PM
  #19  
SPEEDNEEDS1
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pikeville KY
Posts: 109
Default

I may also need a little help, I have a 468 (4.310x4.000) Edelbrock square port heads, 2.25-1.90 valves, 13.3 comp, .722-.722 lunati cam, all in a 3500lbs 66 Chevelle, 400 turbo, 5500ati, and a 5.38 gear....What do I need for carb. I have a 830hp and it ran good on my last 468 but with much less compression?????????? I also run 1/8 mile ONLY (5.38)
SPEEDNEEDS1 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 04:04 AM
  #20  
tcarda
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Big Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 162
Default

Originally Posted by SPEEDNEEDS1
I may also need a little help, I have a 468 (4.310x4.000) Edelbrock square port heads, 2.25-1.90 valves, 13.3 comp, .722-.722 lunati cam, all in a 3500lbs 66 Chevelle, 400 turbo, 5500ati, and a 5.38 gear....What do I need for carb. I have a 830hp and it ran good on my last 468 but with much less compression?????????? I also run 1/8 mile ONLY (5.38)
Call Pat at Pro-Systems. I bought a new one from him in December for my 540. I won't have my motor on the dyno until April and I can't wait to see the numbers. Good luck! http://www.prosystemsracing.com
tcarda is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service