motor poping

Old 06-20-2007, 06:55 PM
  #1  
jl4020
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default motor poping

can some one help me mind my easy fix. i have inquird a poping noise at high rpm. i thought i might have water in fuel but carb,fuel pump and filter was clean. iam think that if it was a bad valve spring it would do it threw out rpm.? right or wrong? any way to test msd box? it a big block chev
jl4020 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:07 PM
  #2  
topsportsman1
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine,USA
Posts: 1,208
Default

What MSD Ignition box you got? How high rpm are you talking about?
__________________
There Is 1 Thing Better Than Cubic Inches,,,More Of Them
topsportsman1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:14 PM
  #3  
jl4020
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default

msd 7al well some where around 6000 and up i have a 7000 pill.in it
jl4020 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:20 PM
  #4  
topsportsman1
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine,USA
Posts: 1,208
Default

7AL?? 2 or 3?
__________________
There Is 1 Thing Better Than Cubic Inches,,,More Of Them
topsportsman1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:25 PM
  #5  
jl4020
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default

my bad it a 2
jl4020 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:43 PM
  #6  
topsportsman1
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine,USA
Posts: 1,208
Default

Its possible the 7al2 could be going away,the 7al2 is about the same caliber box as the 6al,which is about half the caliber as a 7al3

I'd sooner think you was having issues with your box,or the add on box for the rev limiter,maybe unplug the rev limiter and see if the problem goes away,other than that,I'd say either upgrade the box or ship it back to MSD and have it checked out

Also you could be having tachometer issues causing it to cut out at higher rpm's
__________________
There Is 1 Thing Better Than Cubic Inches,,,More Of Them
topsportsman1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 08:10 PM
  #7  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

What kind of fuel do you run? I know you said it was clean but i still want to know. Also what compression do you run?
davis419b is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:19 AM
  #8  
billhendren
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rutherfordton North Carolina
Posts: 192
Default

You may want to check your valve springs,also make sure your mag pickup wires are separated from the coil orange and black leads.also check the polarity on the mag pickup.to do this look at where your timing is set,unplug the dist and take two short wires.plug one end into the dist and cross the wires before plugging them into the wire loom.start the engine and see if the timing advanced or retarded.the correct position is the retarded one.Bill
billhendren is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 01:08 PM
  #9  
jl4020
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default

vp 110 it 13to1 it just started it last weekend never had a prolbem till then . ithought if it was valve spring it would do it all the time?
jl4020 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 03:24 PM
  #10  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

i have to ask..what did you run before then ?...(fuel)

thanks brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service