Burn out question

Old 12-01-2008, 08:17 AM
ssym
JUNIOR BUILDER

Default Burn out question

66 Chevy II 14.5/32's, TH400 with trans brake.

How do you do your burn outs? Is a line lock the common item just for the burn out?

My question is should I install a line lock/roll control to keep it in the box a little longer. How important is wheel speed in the burn out?

Its a newbie question, but a complete review of the burn out would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-01-2008, 10:52 AM
vader2
SHOW GUEST

I am no expert, but I have been on the track a few times, this is what I do.

First a line lock will definately help with getting the proper heat in the tires. I have seen guys have the line lock and transbrake hooked in parrell. This helps in the staging lights to ensure the car does not move on the transbrake. Most of the time these guys do not need a line lock for a proper burn out, I am not one of them.

I come to the water box, I rap the engine in gear in the box to get the tires good and wet, then pull forward out of the box about 2-3 feet. Depress the brakes fully, engage the line lock, rap the engine to 5000 in first gear and then run through the gears quickly. After about 3-5 second in high gear I let off the line lock and ride out the burnout. Let off the gas, place tranny in neutral, rap the engine good on the way to the staging lights, place in gear and hold on.

I am sure there are alot of ways to do it, this is just the way I do it.
Old 12-01-2008, 12:54 PM
ssym
JUNIOR BUILDER

Thanks Vader

Next question....I have a transbrake switch on my shifter. Where would you recommend the line lock switch go? Steering wheel? two switches on the shifter?
Old 12-01-2008, 01:06 PM
vader2
SHOW GUEST