need a cam for a 496 BBC in a heavy car

Old 03-01-2012, 09:58 PM
  #11  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

Oh,my headers. They were a set of old corvette side pipe style headers,modified into over the rail headers for my car. 2 1/8 primaries with a 4" collector,4" bullets and then two foot of 4" pipe in to a turn out.TWIMC


0406092344a by Shiny Ribs, on Flickr
olds48 is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 06:41 AM
  #12  
roadkill2
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 628
Default

Originally Posted by zipper06
468" i built for my friend. Car weighs 3700 lbs without driver. Driver weighs a little over 200 lbs.



Nice whale! Awesome! Them ole Biscaddodles sure look good on two wheels . .
roadkill2 is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 07:13 PM
  #13  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Thanks roadkill2, the car does get some attention because no one expects it to run that good.

Olds, I think it cuts both ways, the cam you're now running would definately like more compression, but i also think with the 5.14 gear you're not using the torque the 496" has. i'm not familiar with the Canfield heads, but i know that the Dart 308's steel heads will make 850 HP, and they flow 360/365 as cast, with compression and almost identical cam that you have. Either way it cost about the same to go to a PG, it will cost you about $1200.00, to go to 14.1 pistons, Probe or Icon's will cost you about $600.00, plus rebalancing the rotating assy, and dropping the gear to 4.56 or 4.30. I know what i would do. I would opt. to the higher compression and different gear. I don't think a PG would pick up more than .015/.020 in the 1/8. I would also put a transbrake valve body in the 400 trans. Course i wouldn't have the money to do either. SS sucks ops:

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 06:45 AM
  #14  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default need a cam

You can get by with a Lunati .722"/.722" 276/284 110 cam with that compression.
markdunlap is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 10:38 AM
  #15  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

Okay. Thank you Mark.

Zipper,I ran 4.56 gears this past season because I put a plate on the car with the idea of spraying my way to the 5.95 index. It ended up that I never touched the button. Those 4.56's took my 60' from 1.42-1.45 down to a 1.6-1.65. Of course,I'm pulling timing out on every pass trying to run the 6.95 index,but it still killed my short time. I'm thinking that the slow 60' couldnt be helping my reactions time either. Takes soooo long for the car to move!

I really prefer running on foot brake,but its hard to be competitive when 90% of the field runs t-brakes. EVERY round I lost last season was due to getting treed. And the biggest margin was 0.0300 sec. , so Im right there on them. Hoping going back to the 5.14s will help jump off the line a bit faster.

And I know what you mean about affording stuff. Man,if I break anything I'll be out for the season. I'm tapped. But hey...it's a Chevy...it ain't gonna break! :shock:
olds48 is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:36 AM
  #16  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default need a cam

I was taking timing out to to keep over 6.40 with my home built 496.

I used a timer on my delay box hooked up to a msd retard box and took out 10 degrees after my shift point for 3 seconds and then went back to full timing. It left good and finished good. Almost sounded like a shot of nitrous when it came back to life at the end.

Also had a TOO big duration cam in it to slow it down. 284/292 duration @ .050" lift.

And the 1.75" restrictor plate under the 1050 carbie. At 3200#
markdunlap is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 10:10 PM
  #17  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

I have a Mallory Hyfire box that pulls timing automatically when the nitrous is activated. I just disabled the solenoids and type in the amount of timing i want to be pulled. As soon as the throttle switch makes it pulls the timing out and im good. Adjusting the timing is as easy as pushing the buttons on the boxes keypad. I love that box. I think I will redo my setup where the timing retard is activated as soon as i shift out of 1st gear,to help retain all my power for the launch. Im trying to improve my 60',leaving with lazy timing definitely wont help :lol:
olds48 is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 06:01 AM
  #18  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default Need a cam

If you can shift by time instead of RPM, you may be more consistant.
markdunlap is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 08:36 PM
  #19  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

I agree,but I like to drive. I dont want a transbrake or an automatic shifter. Not to take away from the guys who use them,thats all good,I just like to drive. I'll lose before I go with a fully automatic car.Its just me. I enjoy the challenge.
olds48 is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:20 AM
  #20  
Pwmax
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 184
Default

Dynoed a 496 last weak, Canfield 310's, Ported victor, 1050 AEd carb, Howards roller, 268-276, .765-.722. 10.5:1, pump gas, made 790hp at 7100, 646tq at 5200. Heads are obviously worked pretty well.

This engine was a 460, that I had built for the guy years before, that he wanted freshened and turned into a 496. The 460 made 745 and 600 ft/lbs with the same cam. made it a 496, just new, same everything else.

car ran 10.20's at 3800+ pounds, stock suspensin, 70 chevelle, drag radials and exhaust. Take the exhaust off, put some slicks on it, and it would have gone 9's easy. It should go in the 9's now in street trim.

With a point of compression, and a vaccum pump, it would have made 820.

Frank
Pwmax is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -