4 wheel line lock??

Old 02-25-2008, 04:25 PM
  #1  
prostreet1972
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Newcomerstown, OH
Posts: 33
Default 4 wheel line lock??

Who is running it and how much does it help? I am thinking about going this route instead of transbrake. Seems to make more sense to me since your drivetrain will be preloaded instead of a sudden hit. My car is not that powerfull (430 horse plus 150hp shot). Let me know your thoughts on it. How many rpms will it hold without overpowering the line lock? Also how exactly do you guys set it up and run the lines?

Thanks for the help,

Travis
prostreet1972 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 05:22 AM
  #2  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,141
Default

I am no expert but that seems like to me it wouldn't react very fast..but I am probably wrong. I didn't know people ran 4 wheel line locks. :?
Tod74 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 06:35 AM
  #3  
v8Fiero
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wisconsin cheesehead!!
Posts: 213
Default

isnt that the same as foot-braking?
v8Fiero is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:27 AM
  #4  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,312
Default

We use both transbrake and line lock. For the reasons stated consistency in staging, the chassis is loaded the same each time. This is done through our delay box though. You didn't state whether or not that you are using a box.

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:41 PM
  #5  
slowmotion
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Staunton, IL
Posts: 943
Default

Been there, Done that. Had 4 wheel line lock on a stock '83 cutlass.
Used it with a delay box and MSD soft touch rev limiter. Ever seen a 17 sec box car? It got a lot of funny looks when it came up on the chip, lol.
It works, but you have to make sure the brakes are pumped up good before setting it or it will push through the lights.
Mine were mounted on the inner fender right by the master cylinder. NHRA has since outlawed them on some classes.

I think the RPM's it will hold would depend on the stall of your converter.
slowmotion is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:44 PM
  #6  
prostreet1972
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Newcomerstown, OH
Posts: 33
Default

I am not running a delay box and I have a 4000 stall coverter. Just covering my options of different ways of staging and launching the car. Of course I want the best launch and reaction time as possible. I feel that I can react faster letting go of a button versus mashing the gas.

Thanks for your input.

Travis
prostreet1972 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:28 PM
  #7  
mcracecars
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 272
Default

check the rulebook first, I seem to remember that nhra/ihra do not allow line locks on all four wheels.....but..... who is going to check those things...???
mcracecars is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service