Band adjustments on PG's

Old 07-16-2009, 05:35 PM
  #1  
andybyrd
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 151
Default Band adjustments on PG's

I just bought the book How to build a racing powerglide By J.W. High performance Transmission. and in the book it says to do a band adjustment every 15 passes. both my other cars had Turbo 400's in them. this PG is my first, and I love it, I just need to learn all I can about them. So if this Band adjustment is nessasary every 15 runs then it will be done. I just want to get some input on this.
Thanks Andy
andybyrd is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 05:55 PM
  #2  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

IMO thats crazy I never adjust mine, it dont roll and we are good.
hammertime is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 05:58 PM
  #3  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

The band in our car gets adjusted every winter when the trans comes apart for freshening. No need to adjust it that much.
shawnp is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 06:26 PM
  #4  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

I don't adjust mine every 15 passes. That's pretty excessive. I usually adjust mine every 30-40 passes and have never had any band issues. You could probably adjust it once a season and be fine, but I have seen many pg racecars back out of the beams because they don't adjust the band. With the multitude of ways to lose, I've never lost a round that way......
johnracer is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:18 AM
  #5  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

Andy you can't listen to everything written. Pick a few people or techs that you trust and stick with them. Overall I think its much better than listening to alot of different people, especially as new as you are in the racing game. To much different info will just cause you to over analyze you situation....IMO
dparker is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 08:59 AM
  #6  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

I'm with everyone else on this one. If the band adjustment is off, the car will usually back out of the beams when the trans brake is applied, if it don't roll it's good to go.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:04 AM
  #7  
andybyrd
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 151
Default

Thanks guys. and Parker your right I am new to this and I never want to screw up do to lack of know how. I thought that was a little excessive thats why I ask. so what I get here is if the bands need adj. your car will roll back when you apply the trans brake. hell my first Race durring Qualifing I ran out of gas at the 60' beam and had to be towed off the track with 500 people watching WOW did I feal like a Idiot :lol: . oh well that want never happen again.
Thanks Again Andy.
andybyrd is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:37 AM
  #8  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

So you've done that too eh? I usually do that kinda thing in eliminations though. I've run outta gas, forgot to turn on my co2 bottle, launched in neutral, (my favorite and thank god for rev limiters), had the chute fall out at about 100ft, shifted into reverse at 125mph (don't try that one, REALLY scary and crashes happen), forgot to turn the delay box on, entered wrong dial-in using crosstalk, and on and on......fortunenately I haven't done any of those things in quite a while.
Dparker is correct again, you can't follow everyone's advice. Kinda like machinists, and engine/tranny builders; pick someone you trust and stick with em.
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:09 PM
  #9  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,535
Default Johnracer

Johnracer, did you race a yellow Maverick at Bandimere?
fla1976 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:48 PM
  #10  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default Re: Johnracer

Originally Posted by fla1976
Johnracer, did you race a yellow Maverick at Bandimere?
Nope, gray/silver SG 63 Corvette roadster. I did run the Milehighs though. Lost 1st rnd, double breakout 10.487 to my 10.482 on the 10.50 SG index. I have some pics in the show off section. pics of my vette
Johnny
johnracer is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service