wheelie bars

Old 02-29-2008, 12:22 PM
denn468
MASTER JOURNEYMAN

Default wheelie bars

i have a 69 camaro that weighs 3640 lbs it has a 540 in it the car brings all four wheels off the ground and shes starting to break things when she comes down im putting some bars on it but dont know if i should go tube type or flat bar since its so heavy need some in put thanks
Old 02-29-2008, 02:13 PM
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE

chrome moly tube..and if its hitting that hard i would not go anything less than 80 inches (minimum)

also is this a 4 link car ?...if so sounds like your instant center is too far forward if its coming up like you say...
i am not a pro-chassis set up guy but know enough to recognize this problem.

Brian

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
Old 02-29-2008, 02:35 PM
denn468
MASTER JOURNEYMAN

its a ladder bar car i want the car to come up a couple of feet but thats itlast time out i cost 1200 for two rims and tires and 350 for a oil pan i like doing the wheelies but not when they are that costly and it could have been worse i was told the round tube bars will unload the chassis in heavy cars they said the flat bar flexs more but i thought the flat would be to weak
Old 02-29-2008, 05:31 PM
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE

NOT TRUE !...what unloads the rear wheels on a launch as a result of wheelie bars is they were notset up properly ( wheels set to low) it will cause the tires to un-plant ...
with a car leaving as hard as yours and the car being so heavy i would strongly recommend a round tube braced chrome moly set of bars no shorter then 80 inches long...

once you have them mounted you will need to have someone sit in the car about the same weight as you then adjust them....a good point to start is wheels about 4 inches off the ground with bars in the down positon..most guys stagger the wheelie bar height because the way the car naturally rolls ( torques)...