What converter are you running

Old 12-21-2009, 05:39 PM
  #1  
travis91
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 19
Default What converter are you running

Please tell me whose racing torque converter you are using and if you are happy with its performance. If you replaced a previous converter and have verifyable data to show improvements, please provide gains achieved.

Thanks.
travis91 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:27 PM
  #2  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

I have a 8 inch 5800rpm spragless Transmission Specialities converter behind my BBC.

I have run this converter for the last 2 seasons and was pleased with it's performance, thats is... till I found it has over 17% slippage :shock:

I'm pretty sure it was loose from the get go and they do offer one free tweak within the first 6 months. I just never knew it was loose till someone on here ran the numbers for me.

I wouldn't be afraid to buy another one though.

Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 02:38 AM
  #3  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

I've run Continental for as long as I've racing. In fact I've only had one racing convertor, ever. It's an 8" that I bought in '95. Initially it was set up for my 63 Nova with a 406 and 5000 stall. I had it freshened and restalled to 5500 when I bought my FED, then again to 5800 when I went with a big roller. One more time when I installed the 522RM in my Vette roadster, still at 5800. I"m sending it in again this winter to up the stall a bit more. Kris has always nailed the stall I wanted on the first try with 5-7% slippage.
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 03:48 AM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

I've learned over the years converter shops are like car salesman

I've tried several brands and the only one not to go back on what they say is Coan ..

call and ask for Art Reed
hammertime is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 06:48 AM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

I've ran Continental, Hughes, and PTC, current is PTC, and they will stand 100% behind their product. I've had good luck with all of them, never broke one, but PTC is closer for me and will have something in a couple days if necessary.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 07:14 AM
  #6  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 999
Default

X 2 on PTC. I have used them before and will again. My current convertor is from BTE, good service from them also...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 07:39 AM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by mytmouz
X 2 on PTC. I have used them before and will again. My current convertor is from BTE, good service from them also...

I just got my coan converter back from a freshen up it was about 70.00 less then we figured

want to add after I got this coan back ... it was 600rpms tighter then it was when I sent it in ... and of course they told me I was down on HP and would not fix it... I wont be back there either
hammertime is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:19 AM
  #8  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

Originally Posted by cepx111
I have a 8 inch 5800rpm spragless Transmission Specialities converter behind my BBC.

I have run this converter for the last 2 seasons and was pleased with it's performance, thats is... till I found it has over 17% slippage :shock:

I'm pretty sure it was loose from the get go and they do offer one free tweak within the first 6 months. I just never knew it was loose till someone on here ran the numbers for me.

I wouldn't be afraid to buy another one though.
HOW DID YOU OR WHOEVER FIGURE OUT SLIPPAGE?

Cp
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:22 AM
  #9  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

8" ATI CONVERTER 4500
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 04:50 AM
  #10  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Originally Posted by JEFF69Z28
Originally Posted by cepx111
I have a 8 inch 5800rpm spragless Transmission Specialities converter behind my BBC.

I have run this converter for the last 2 seasons and was pleased with it's performance, thats is... till I found it has over 17% slippage :shock:

I'm pretty sure it was loose from the get go and they do offer one free tweak within the first 6 months. I just never knew it was loose till someone on here ran the numbers for me.

I wouldn't be afraid to buy another one though.
HOW DID YOU OR WHOEVER FIGURE OUT SLIPPAGE?

Cp
/www.tciauto.com/Products/TechInfo/Calculators.asp
johnracer is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service