Band adjustments on PG's

Old 07-17-2009, 01:08 PM
  #11  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

Originally Posted by johnracer
So you've done that too eh? I usually do that kinda thing in eliminations though. I've run outta gas, forgot to turn on my co2 bottle, launched in neutral, (my favorite and thank god for rev limiters), had the chute fall out at about 100ft, shifted into reverse at 125mph (don't try that one, REALLY scary and crashes happen), forgot to turn the delay box on, entered wrong dial-in using crosstalk, and on and on......fortunenately I haven't done any of those things in quite a while.
Dparker is correct again, you can't follow everyone's advice. Kinda like machinists, and engine/tranny builders; pick someone you trust and stick with em.
Johnny
Reverse @ 125mph!! OUCH!
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:21 PM
  #12  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,536
Default Reverse @ 125

I saw a car that also got put into reverse at the top end at Bandimere in 1986. Luckily it had a good cage. Totalled the car though. I was told he wanted to put it in neutral so he could get a better reading on the plugs.
fla1976 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 03:27 PM
  #13  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I didn't think it would go into reverse or not go hard into it anyway.
I've hit my trans brake after I've taken off before. IT SUCKS WHEN YOU'RE A 4 WHEEL DRIVE!! It locks you down HARD! Also have hit it while backing up and turning around so I put a toggle switch in line so when I'm backing up a long way I just flip the switch.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 04:09 PM
  #14  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

The only place that R is far enough away from N to be safe is in the alphabet.
shawnp is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 04:01 AM
  #15  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default Re: Reverse @ 125

Originally Posted by fla1976
I saw a car that also got put into reverse at the top end at Bandimere in 1986. Luckily it had a good cage. Totalled the car though. I was told he wanted to put it in neutral so he could get a better reading on the plugs.
I always shift into neutral after the stripe, but really smacked the shifter hard on that one! Didn't total the car, but sure scarred it up. Not to mention the car in the other lane and the guardrail........not one of my finer moments and a really crappy way to make friends and influence people.......I shift into neutral very gently now
johnracer is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 03:44 PM
  #16  
andybyrd
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 151
Default

Man that all makes me feel better I really thought I was the only one that could of ran out of gas of all things. but I really like these stories makes me feel normal again.
Thanks guys Andy
andybyrd is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 03:11 AM
  #17  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Yep, sucks being human..........how about cutting a perfect light, then breaking out by taking waaaay to much stripe? That'll make you feel like a goober.....hero to zero in one pass!
johnracer is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 06:33 AM
  #18  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

Did you have to mention the Red light? Last night I made it to the final round and red lighted :evil: :evil: . What's so bad, I red lighted in the round before and the other guy did too, but worse and he broke out. Then I did it agian :x :cry: But, I almost ran my dial in perfect every time. + .001 or .002 on 5 of my 7 passes.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 06:48 AM
  #19  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Originally Posted by johnracer
, had the chute fall out at about 100ft, Johnny

:lol:
Tod74 is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:24 AM
  #20  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,536
Default oops

Had a slick go flat after the burnout. Don't know why. Screwed rims and proper pressure. Filled it up and it never happened again. Embarrassing just the same. ops:
fla1976 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service