How much stall??

Old 12-07-2008, 09:24 AM
  #11  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

SHOW OFF!! :wink:
dparker is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:25 AM
  #12  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

I have to do this mostly myself in order to be able to afford it. So where do I look for good reasonable parts & a list of what I need would be appreciated. I've had alot of answers on this topic and they've been all over the place on the stuff I really need to upgrade. Thanks again for the help. Dave
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:16 AM
  #13  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

PTC, has some pretty good prices on any and everything you need, and they are good people to do business with, i have, and most of my friends have been running their converters for yrs.

Zip.

http://www.ptcrace.com/
zipper06 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:50 AM
  #14  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

If I was to put a brake in the TH350 I have now, would I need to change stall or gears that way? The trans I run has all good parts including an ultra bell but not a brake.
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 03:41 AM
  #15  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

Your Stall and gears would work fine. I am not so sure you willl hook though.. That 3 speed has alot lower 1st gear than say a glide...
us7race is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 08:17 AM
  #16  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

Thanks Jody, I'm looking into just buying a glide if I can find one reasonable. After adding up the parts I need to do my own, the price will be about the same. So how's things with you, haven't seen anyone this year since my job has kept me from racing at all. Take care, if you come up with anything let me know. Thanks, Dave
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 09:42 AM
  #17  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

My glide has a transbrake,good input shaft and a dual ring servo and the good clutches but I think the rest is just factory stuff..1.76 planets.

3200 lb big block car so far no issues knock on wood.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 01:30 PM
  #18  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

I have a good line on a glide I think I'll get, so if I change to the 5.29 gears what stall would I need then?
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 11:38 PM
  #19  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

If the motor will pull 7300/7500 rpm the 4.88 or 4.56 will work just fine for 1/4, as long as it won't run over 135mph. i run 5.43 but only run 125m mph and it crosses the line at 7300 rpm.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:04 AM
  #20  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

1/8th mile is all I run
Drtmod5 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service