How much stall??

Old 12-01-2008, 07:16 PM
  #1  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default How much stall??

Ok this is actually a few questions here goes;
My current setup is a 402 BBC in an '89 S-10 with a TH350 no brake 3500+ stall, truck weighs @ 2700lbs running a 9" with 4.56 gears on a set of 31" slicks. I'm getting things together to change trans setup to include a brake. My main question is this, if I put a glide in should I go with a different gear and also will I need more stall. I only run 1/8 mile where I'm from. Will I need to change alot of internal parts to stay together or will stock hold up? I've put in extra discs & clutches in the one I have sitting in my trailer but nothing more. I know I will change input to turbo. Any help appreciated. I'm on a budget here Thanks, Dave :x
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 02:47 AM
  #2  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

Your 4.56 gears will work but I would say you would run faster with 4.88-5.38 gears depending on your HP and RPM range.
Is your stall made for a brake? If not is needs to be.
us7race is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 10:03 AM
  #3  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

How much converter depends on where your engine makes power. What cam and RPM range do you run, and current ET?
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:09 AM
  #4  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

Cam specs are gross valve lift .612/.617, [email protected] 254/262, usually leave on footbrake @ 2000-2200 rpm shift at @6200-6500. Stock oval port heads, mildly ported, Team G single plane intake w/ alky carb. Current ET is low 6.80's/ low 1.4's 60' times. Also US7race, I have a set of 5.29 gears but they're not set up at this time. I'm not sure about the converter, I doubt it's designed for a brake. I have another that may work though. Thanks, Dave
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 01:41 PM
  #5  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

A 9" around 4500-5000 would work best, stick with a 4.56 if you plan any 1/4 mile trips.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:29 AM
  #6  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default Re: Need some info

Originally Posted by hambone82
Ok this is actually a few questions here goes;
My current setup is a 402 BBC in an '89 S-10 with a TH350 no brake 3500+ stall, truck weighs @ 2400lbs running a 9" with 4.56 gears on a set of 31" slicks. I'm getting things together to change trans setup to include a brake. My main question is this, if I put a glide in should I go with a different gear and also will I need more stall. I only run 1/8 mile where I'm from. Will I need to change alot of internal parts to stay together or will stock hold up? I've put in extra discs & clutches in the one I have sitting in my trailer but nothing more. I know I will change input to turbo. Any help appreciated. I'm on a budget here Thanks, Dave
If the go to a powerglide the stock parts that you don't have to replace for your application are the plants, the case, the sirvo, and the front pump, the other internal part should be upgraded.
dparker is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 01:50 PM
  #7  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

You need a high gear hub, input shaft, 5-6 high clutches, and a dual ring servo piston. Only use the 1.76 if using a factory gear set.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 11:45 PM
  #8  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

Another dumb ? Is there a simple way of telling if I have 1.76 or 1.82? I may just wind up sticking with current setup. Starting to get discouraged with it anyway.
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 07:37 AM
  #9  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

The 1.76 gear is alot bigger. Lets see, on the 1.76 gear the gears you see will come to the edge of the base on the plantetary and the 1.82 will be about an inch from the edge.
Instead of upgrading your stock powerglide you might try buying a used powerglide thats already setup. You should be able to get one, not tricked out, but that would work in your 402, from $700 to $1000 ready to go.
dparker is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 08:04 AM
  #10  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

Originally Posted by hambone82
Another dumb ? Is there a simple way of telling if I have 1.76 or 1.82? I may just wind up sticking with current setup. Starting to get discouraged with it anyway.
Here is a Pic...

http://www.putfile.com/pic/5999073#
us7race is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service