procomp????

Old 08-06-2007, 01:41 AM
  #21  
Robert1320
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Custom Engine Shop, Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 73
Default

Won't hold up to boost?

We had a set on a sbc, these were ported and we are still running 24 psi of boost on them. 3200lbs+ car running 9.0 and 158+.
The trans broke but it should be back at the track this year. Our friend has a tight budget.
Robert1320 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 07:15 AM
  #22  
signsbyesa
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: san antonio, texas
Posts: 1,233
Default

wanted to find out about procomp and they are using the old
protopline castings which went out of business, the castings are
coming from china like every thing else, even some of the best
tool companies are made in china, dewalt, milwakee, etc. I had
a set of protopline sbc heads and worked great for the price,
went racing and daily driver, the other comany that is putting
out the old protopline is RHS, my canfields were cast in china
as well, and if you check all the cam companies, they get their
castings from china as well, all because the cost of payroll for
it to be made here can't compete with the overseas castings,
Friedrich air condidtioner just closed here in tx and is moving to
mexico to compete with the companies from china. so castings
from china like the procomp heads might be junk, but if you
check your high dollar parts on your car, they more than likly
come from china, deal with it.
signsbyesa is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 03:02 PM
  #23  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Man this is getting good
I don't want to get into a pissing contest because i'm not that kind of a person, but there some things that need to be brought to light.

First and foremost thanks (Robert 1320) those are excellent results using proComp heads. One question is were/are these heads the old ProAction/ProTop line heads or are they the newer ProComp heads? i ask this question because because they are not the same heads.
Protop Line/proAction heads are cast in Australia/New Zealand, they went belly up a couple yrs ago i suppose because their marketing/promoting was not good enough to stay in business. They had excellent heads and would flow over 300CFM out of the box. RHS bought that foundry and now offer the heads as Pro Action heads and are completely machined by RHS their 235's flow over 315CFM out of the box, they also come with 11/32" valve stems. ProComps are 5/16" valve stems.

Here is the data on ProTop Line heads

FEATURES

Multi-angled intake valve seats
Radius exhaust valve seats
Improved valve guide design
Refined water jacket design
Manganese intake valve guides
Bronze exhaust valve guides
Hardened valve seats
Extra-thick deck faces ( NOTE )
Clean Cast Technologyâ„¢

Go here for the full data.

http://www.racingheadservice.com/Inf...hevy-Heads.asp

ProCmp heads are Chinese casting and machined in China, if you want CNC porting they are ported at Direct Motion in Ca.
Procomp does not have a head casting that will port to 225 runners at this time. I was intrested in these heads until i saw a couple sets of these heads and the 3/8" deck thickness.
Below see supporting emails directly from the head porter himself at Direct Motion.

Read from bottom to top.

Hey Darren,
>
> Forgot to add, don't worry about the valve job i'll
> take care of that, just do them like you did my
> friend
> Richard Blalocks BBC heads.
> Also do these new heads have the Stahl bolt pattern
> on the exhaust ports or the conventional chevy
> pattern. If you are doing these holes i would prefer
> the Stahl pattern.
>
> John Allen
>
> --- john letter <[email protected]> wrote:
>
> > Hi Darren,
> > I just recieved a copy of your email to Richard
> at
> > ProComp about the SBC heads, as per our emails
> early
> > last month, i'm intrested in these heads to go on
> a
> > 383" blown alcohol motor. I'm more intrested in
> > getting the exhaust flow up and i think the 20%
> > increase will help a lot for this motor. As for
> the
> > intakes if we can get the flow up around 300CFM
> with
> > a
> > port size to match a felpro 1206 gasket i think
> they
> > would work well, 5 or 6 weeks out is not a
> problem,
> > because i'm still working on the Anglia chassis
> >
> >
> > Copy of email from Richard
> >
> > Richard as of right now there is not a casting
> from
> > ProComp that will flow trying to go out to 225cc
> int
> > volume without breaking into water, with that
> being
> > said we have a 210cc port that is working out the
> > best
> > this will need a 2.08 intake valve we also have a
> > new
> > exhaust port that flows 20% better, however this
> > won't
> > be ready for them until we digitize this head and
> > run
> > the program on another head, this will take around
> > five weeks from now. Keep in touch with me and I
> > will
> > update you as this evolves
> >
> > Thank you Darren San Angelo
> >
> > Thanks in advance
> >
> > John Allen

Like i said not trying to get into a pissing contest but these are facts.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  #24  
alumhead
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default chinese canfields

dude: talk about bad info, chinese canfields? John Fenton
alumhead is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:36 PM
  #25  
edvancedengines
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: VA Hospital, Dallas, Tx (214 302 1924) cell-972-464-7400
Posts: 540
Default

I didn't notice that part of the reply.

Canfield Cylinder Heads are Cast and machined in the USA.

For certain the Canfield is very top quality casting. The CFE BMF Heads that the Outlaw Racing world is going nuts to get now are begun from Canfield Castings. The Steve Schmidt Conventional Nitrous Head for BB Chevy is Begun as a Canfield Head and then is Done by BMF division of CFE and then completed to their specs by Steve Schmidt.

I have used several of the Canfield Heads and have been very happy with them all. I buy my Canfields. from Competition Products.

I do not know if the version that Jeg's sells under the Jeg's name is the same or not.

Ed
edvancedengines is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 04:34 AM
  #26  
signsbyesa
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: san antonio, texas
Posts: 1,233
Default

dude talking about the material comes from china, where do you
think our old cars go to get melted Pittsburg steel? there is no more
pittsburg steel one of the biggest, i worked at a foundry and the
metal started coming in the late 80's and then sent pittsburg
and other steel companies out of business, so if you want u can say
"chinese metal", i still think we will end up in trouble, look at the
recall on toys. :twisted:
signsbyesa is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 06:02 AM
  #27  
cboggs
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 101
Default

I agree, .. our country is in VERY, VERY serious trouble and the
idiots that run it can't see it coming, ..

it's like a deer in the head lights, ..

Our business has gone, the little guy can't make it any more, ..
taxes are higher, . .. and the "guests" from other countries
are using up our tax dollar resources, ..

we got huge problems, ..

Curtis
cboggs is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:07 PM
  #28  
Racefab57
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 557
Default

cutris ,WHY the HELL CANT THEY figure this out? WE need a person like you in the white house ! not that idiot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! David.
Racefab57 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 03:11 PM
  #29  
woodsman
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 525
Default

Originally Posted by Racefab57
cutris ,WHY the HELL CANT THEY figure this out? WE need a person like you in the white house ! not that idiot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! David.
David you said ( not that idiot ) did you not mean to say not them idiots.
woodsman is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 09:37 PM
  #30  
cboggs
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 101
Default

Originally Posted by Racefab57
cutris ,WHY the HELL CANT THEY figure this out? WE need a person like you in the white house ! not that idiot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! David.
Yea right, .. me in the white house, .. first thing I'd do is try to
fire congress, .. then where would I be?, .

I live just outside of DC, .. in another life I was a fairly popular
portrait photographer, .. shot CEO's & senators in that
"rolling stone" magazine style, ..

well I got to meet plenty of our national leaders and let me tell you, ..
stupid would be a compliment. These people can't see past their
own personal interest much less how their actions effect the nation
in the future.

Arrgg, .. this makes me so mad, ..

Curtis
cboggs is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information