exhaust backfire

Old 11-08-2008, 01:16 PM
  #1  
nova77
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: san antonio,texas
Posts: 28
Default exhaust backfire

i need some clues here--- my car started backfiring out of the exhaust,
whats up with that ???
nova77 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:14 PM
  #2  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,535
Default Backfire

Normally it is an indication of a burnt exhaust valve. A compression check can confirm easily.
fla1976 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:52 PM
  #3  
lively
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
lively's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 2,190
Default

is it backfiring on acceleration or when your letting off??more info??? LIVELY
lively is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:59 PM
  #4  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

cracks (leaks) in the exhaust system can also cause this upon deceleration.. (maybe lively was getting to this)..check your exhuast from the headers back ..

imo
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:05 PM
  #5  
nova77
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: san antonio,texas
Posts: 28
Default

thanks for all the help !!!!
it only backfires when you let off the gas.
the only changes that were done was i installed a new set of headers. everything else is the same. it only seems to be #5 that it backfires from.
I pulled the plug and looks like it has not fired, it is real clean.
nova77 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:07 PM
  #6  
FullTimeRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans,La
Posts: 515
Default

might have crack the plug during removal or intalation
FullTimeRacing is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:08 PM
  #7  
FullTimeRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans,La
Posts: 515
Default

disregard my last post
FullTimeRacing is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 04:00 PM
  #8  
nova77
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: san antonio,texas
Posts: 28
Default

thank you everyone--- i found it !!!!
when I welded the header and grinded the welds we goy alittle to thin in one spot. Fixed it and ready to go.
nova77 is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service