How many cubes out of a stock block

Old 03-28-2009, 10:27 AM
  #1  
flight71
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 28
Default How many cubes out of a stock block

If you were limited to a factory production block, what would the limit be on how many cubes you could get out of a Big Block chevy, thanks
flight71 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 12:04 PM
  #2  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default

You can take some 454 blocks .125 over and a 4.25 stroke and get 511 cu. in. Or if you go with a Gen6 block i think you can go 4.50 bore 4.50 stroke for 572 cu. in.
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:30 PM
  #3  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

x2 with what beast said...the 512 series block is one of the ones you wpuld want to get your hands on for a stock 454.

i would persoanlly keep the bore to .100 over just to have the extra meat in the cylinders .
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 06:41 AM
  #4  
flight71
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 28
Default

what about the late model 502ci blocks? what would be the limit on one of these or even the newer yet 8.1liter how many cubes could you get with one of them, these are all factory production blocks aren't they? The reason i ask is we are restricted by having to use a factory production block in the racing that i do so just looking at what the max could possibly be, thanks
flight71 is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 08:06 AM
  #5  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

Originally Posted by flight71
what about the late model 502ci blocks? what would be the limit on one of these or even the newer yet 8.1liter how many cubes could you get with one of them, these are all factory production blocks aren't they? The reason i ask is we are restricted by having to use a factory production block in the racing that i do so just looking at what the max could possibly be, thanks
I have a stock 454 tall deck block and have 536 ci.
.100 over and 4.5 stroke. That engine ran a 5.05 at 136mph last weekend with 5400ft adjusted altitude. If you want to go .125 over you'll have a 540ci.
dparker is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 01:54 PM
  #6  
radicalz
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: out of my mind in Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 179
Default Re: How many cubes out of a stock block

Originally Posted by flight71
If you were limited to a factory production block, what would the limit be on how many cubes you could get out of a Big Block chevy, thanks
It depends on what block you have...mark IV blocks up to 512....gen 6 blocks can go to 572 or higher....now aftermarket blocks...go even higher...just depends on your project and what you have to work with $$$$
radicalz is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 02:29 PM
  #7  
racerjr69
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I have a stock 454 tall deck block and have 536 ci.
.100 over and 4.5 stroke. That engine ran a 5.05 at 136mph last weekend with 5400ft adjusted altitude. If you want to go .125 over you'll have a 540ci.

I am building a 540 myself. .125 with the 4.5 stroke. There are some kits out there for just this build. I lucked into a block for a $100 that had just got the machine work done thats required. So I had it tested to make sure it was ok( for a hundred I was a little skeered!). It turned out great.
racerjr69 is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 07:52 PM
  #8  
russ67chevelle
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 336
Default

bigger the better within reason...no replacement for displacement thing
russ67chevelle is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 05:25 PM
  #9  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

You can have deck plates built and build as big as you want! :wink: The tractor pulling guys do it all the time. If any way possble do not use a 502 block. My last 548 I used a 502 block. The motor was 858hp and held up good, but I almost couldn't give it away because of the poor quaility of the GM block. You can build a 565 to over 1,000hp , but the 502 block will not hold up. 900+hp and you are riding on borrowed time!!
No matter what there is no substitute for more inches!!! lol
TheRabbit is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -