new racer, help!

Old 11-07-2010, 06:55 PM
majorfan88
SHOW GUEST

Default new racer, help!

Hi guys. Now this may sound silly, but I've loved driving ever since I could (putting at least 4k miles on my cars per month since my first car) just driving around for fun. I've always thought if I could, I'd really love to race, but the catch is I don't actually know much about cars. I can't afford to go out and buy a finished race car, and I couldn't re-do one (wouldn't even know where to start), so does anyone happen to have any ideas on how I could get into this? I'm a musician who just happens to have a passion for cars with no actual knowledge and the more I try and find out through the internet, the more confused I become. Help!
Thanks
Old 11-08-2010, 03:23 AM
MEMRACING62
RACING JUNKIE

what type of racing are you looking to get into, if its drag racing a great place to start is locate your local drag strip and find out when there test & tune days are and take your daly driver car there for a day of fun & see if its for you. when your there talk to the guys there to get an idea of what you want to do.good luck & welcome to the forum.
Old 11-08-2010, 01:32 PM
majorfan88
SHOW GUEST

Yes, probably drag racing. Do tracks like that stay open this late in the year? How much am I going to be laughed at bring my daily driver (chevy aveo 5 speed...)? I'm so excited to go out to a race! Thanks :-)
Old 11-08-2010, 04:05 PM
slowmotion
RACING JUNKIE

Let them laugh. Practice, practice, practice. Then go a back on a bracket night and put a few of them out. I won a ton of money with a 17-18sec Cutlass. Even tack champ one year.

Besides, as long as you are having fun, who cares what they say?

Here let me get the first one out of the way.

Racing an Aveo is like "dating" a fat girl. It's all fun till your friends find out. :shock:

JK, go have some fun!
Old 11-08-2010, 04:31 PM
MEMRACING62
RACING JUNKIE