Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Inside car idle control

  1. #1
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE oldandtired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Hill, GA
    Posts
    1,368

    Inside car idle control

    I'm looking for a cable drive idle adjuster that would increase or decrease my idle speed by turning a knob clockwise or counter clockwise.
    I'm sure there is an industrial use somewhere.
    Thanks,
    Dave
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/343797
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE oldandtired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Hill, GA
    Posts
    1,368
    Help still needed!
    BBC, stack injected.
    I need to adjust the throttle opening from inside the vehicle, so if/when I am by myself, I can warm up and then go to hot motor or cool down mode or idle.


    I only need 1/16 inch (or so) movement, but would love to have a knob to turn back and forth to give me precise RPM control.
    Dave
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/343797
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke

  3. #3
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    florence ky
    Posts
    498
    I think this is what you are looking for.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/BUYERS-VCGTX...item27ce30d2c4

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE oldandtired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Hill, GA
    Posts
    1,368
    Quote Originally Posted by RonOwensRacing
    I think this is what you are looking for.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/BUYERS-VCGTX...item27ce30d2c4
    Real close and thanks for the link. I am looking for a piece that by turning the knob, the cable extends or retracts.
    Example - By testing, I would know that an indicator arrow at 9 o'clock would be 1,500 cold RPM. Once warm, dial back to 3 o'clock for 1,000 RPM. If the engine is running rough, go to perhaps 6 o'clock to get it to stabilize.

    Make sense?

    P.S. Dan, thanks for your lead. I'm checking into it and will probably make something from a push / pull cable as you indicated.
    Dave
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/343797
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke

  5. #5
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rifle Colorado
    Posts
    585
    An aircraft throttle cable does that...like for a Cessna 172 or similar. It is a push-pull knob but can be fine tuned by turning it....not sure if having something like that is legal though....

    Johnny

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE TheRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Augusta, Ga.
    Posts
    2,295
    What you are looking for is used on several big concrete cutting saws. Been a long time since I've messed with them but target was one of the brands.

    Stop the video at 35 seconds. You can see the RED knob pulled out. That's actually the adjustable throttle cable. You simply push the red button in and unlocks it. That's an old Target saw. If you go by a Hertz Equipment Rental or a United Rentals they can get you that part.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1L8cebANF28

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE oldandtired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Hill, GA
    Posts
    1,368
    Thanks to all. My initial fix is a PTO cable. I drilled and tapped a hole in the metal sleeve portion and put in a thumb screw to put friction on the cable.
    I'll check out these other sources.
    Dave
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/343797
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE TheRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Augusta, Ga.
    Posts
    2,295
    I was at a local industrial supply house yesterday and saw one of the cables I was taking about. They can make any length you want.
    The one I'm talking about has the locking button in the center.
    I'm sure you can find one locally.



  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE curtisreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    KIEFER, OK.
    Posts
    1,309
    Just make something like this. Use a push pull style cable and screw it into the end of the threaded section like I show here. The threaded section goes through a bracket, the cable sheath is held with a clamp. The other end the sheath is in a clamp and the end of the cable will push on the throttle linkage.



    Curtis

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE oldandtired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sugar Hill, GA
    Posts
    1,368
    Thanks Curtis.
    That's what I'm looking for. By the way, the PTO cable I'm using now does not want to rotate. After uncoiling it out of the package, I tried to straighten it as best as I could but it still wants to "return" to one position when it's rotated.
    No worries - I'll get it done over the winter.
    Dave
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/343797
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy