Jasper Engines

Old 07-05-2013, 06:52 AM
ajk
DYNO OPERATOR

Default Jasper Engines

Talking with a buddy of mine this weekend. He has an 88 1500 with a 5.7 that is on the the high side of 350,000 miles. He is debating on rebuilding it himself or purchasing a Jasper engine. I personally never dealt with a Jasper engine. Anyone have any helpful input good or bad? Thanks
Old 07-05-2013, 08:39 AM
gearhead1011
EXPERT BUILDER

I have been installing Jasper engines for at least 20 years and personally feel like it is the best remanufactured engine out there. I used to build the engines for most of the stuff that came through the shop but now I just build the "special" stuff and sell Jaspers for everything else. The turn around is much quicker and when you factor in the additional labor for rebuild as opposed to installing a long block there isn't much difference in price to the customer. My local machine shop won't give me any more than a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty and the Jasper has a 3 year 100,000 mile parts & labor warranty. The few problems I have had with the Jasper product Jasper has stepped up and taken care of. There are a lot of engine builders out there that will give you a warranty but until you have a problem you don't know how good that warranty is.
Old 07-05-2013, 10:18 AM
fast75vega
RACING JUNKIE

i ran one in my 1989 burban for 8 years and always pulling something behind it... race car... camper...ect .... never missed a beat or had any issues :wink:
Old 07-05-2013, 11:33 AM
curtisreed
RACING JUNKIE

I have a Jasper engine and transmission in my 2001 Ford Supercrew. I had to put the engine in at 242,000 miles and I have 300,125 on it today, so 58,125 so far. The trans has probably 125,000 or more. Both have been trouble free in my case.

Jasper's warranty is nation wide also. Kinda nice if you are traveling and have problems with their engine. I would have another installed in a heartbeat.

Curtis
Old 07-05-2013, 02:41 PM
hold
SHOW GUEST

Default jasper