Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: need a cam for a 496 BBC in a heavy car

  1. #1
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431

    need a cam for a 496 BBC in a heavy car

    What have ya'll used in the past with good success?
    The car is 2990 lbs without driver
    1/8 mile only
    Canfield heads
    11.2:1 comp
    Th400
    33" tire with a 5.14 gear
    Its setup with a solid roller now
    Naturally aspirated,of course
    I've been 6.62 with the car and it think it may go a little faster as is,but my 60' sucks.Best 60' of 1.44.

    Any opinions welcome! Thanks
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Fountain,MICHIGAN
    Posts
    856

    Re: need a cam for a 496 BBC in a heavy car

    Quote Originally Posted by olds48
    What have ya'll used in the past with good success?
    The car is 2990 lbs without driver
    1/8 mile only
    Canfield heads
    11.2:1 comp
    Th400
    33" tire with a 5.14 gear
    Its setup with a solid roller now
    Naturally aspirated,of course
    I've been 6.62 with the car and it think it may go a little faster as is,but my 60' sucks.Best 60' of 1.44.

    Any opinions welcome! Thanks
    2990 is Heavy?Man I'm @ 3035.
    My Cars got a 496,but i'm @ 14.5 1
    Dart 355CNC
    C/Cams CCA11-736-9
    Glide 4.70 gear 10.5x33,8"PTC 6300 Stall
    Best pass-5.601~124, 60' 1.22-.24

    You Deffinately have ALOT more Lauch RATIO than me,which should Help you?

    Other than the Compression,would like to know what Head you have?Along with stall,Intake and Carb or INJ.,Gas or alcohol?The more Info the BETTER,...?
    I have a couple Rollers left here,think I have a 748-748?
    But I will look into a cam for you w/the 11.2 Static comp?

    Later
    G 8)
    Green BULBS and WIN Lights!!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    La.
    Posts
    2,890
    468" i built for my friend. Car weighs 3700 lbs without driver. Driver weighs a little over 200 lbs.

    BB 2 Extra heads ported
    turbo 400
    1050 Dom.
    4.56 gear
    15X33X15 GY's

    No fiberglass except hood and trunk, all roll up windows

    It runs 6.38 @ 109 mph on motor with 1.44 60'
    Runs 6.18 @ 114 mph 1.38 60' with 200 shot of nitrous
    9.77 @ 138,5 in qtr with 200 shot nitrous.
    Cam installed at 106*

    It has a stock GM steel crank and 804 rods with good bolts and and forged Probe 10.4 pistons, roller top end. i used a small cam because of the weight of the car.
    I'm not kidding it totally surprised me on the performance ops:

    Zip.




  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE TheYellaBrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Emmett, Idaho
    Posts
    7,334

    I never get tired of seeing that big black 'n' flamed boat in that wheels up attitude !
    TRUTH is HATE
    to those who
    HATE TRUTH

    God Bless our folks in uniform
    "We the People, have your backs"
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/279898

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431
    That makes me wanna put my 496 in my '66!

    At a track full of Fox bodies I'm considered a heavy car

    See,all you guys are running way faster than me,I dont know why my car is a slug. Our track is a true 660 feet long and I turn 103-107mph when i have it detuned to run the 6.95 index. All out the best mph it has turned is 112 so I know it is making good top end,just wont leave hard.

    My heads are the bigger of the two Canfields, I think it is a 335 runner???
    2.25 and 1.88 valves
    NO port work whatsoever
    I shift a 6200 ( i know...) and it runs fine on pump gas. I went ahead and ran on VP 110 last season and saw no difference. I'm gonna return to pump gas just for cost reasons this season. My converter is not real loose. In high gear I can stall it on the foot brake to about 55-6000. At the line it will only foot brake to about 3000 max before pushing thru the brakes. With a 1600 rpm launch (approx. i dont run any staging controls) it will flash to about 4000.

    Anymore info needed? Thanks for the help so far.

    You guys are making me jealous.If at all possible,I would love to be able to run the 5.95 index naturally aspirated,but I think I will need to bump my compression to make that a reality
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    La.
    Posts
    2,890
    The car has a Trans brake and a 5500 stall converter. It sounds like your converter may be a little loose, if you can stall it to 6,000 rpm. (JMO) We shift at 6600.
    We go to the shell station and fill up the tow vehicle and the racecar, it's never seen race gas. As a matter of fact it has mufflers also, but are loosened and shifted to one side at the track. This car can be driven to Sonic, or anywhwere in our small town, with the mufflers connected. There's a 10 gal fuel tank in the trunk, 2 seats and harnesses. It doesn't load up on the gas or overheat on the street and idles at about 900 rpm. Like i have said before i don't know how much HP it's making, but it's got to be close to 700 i would think.

    Zip.

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431
    I run thru an air filter and mufflers. Of course my "mufflers" are 4" bullets. If you can call those mufflers. It only stalls that high in high gear,I wish it was a tad looser. It really starts pulling at about 5000 rpm. I think my motor is over-cammed for the compression it has. I'll get my cam specs up when I find them. The lift is in the high 700" range and the duration is really probably too much for my comp ratio. Aah,the joys of buying other peoples take outs Its a lunati cam. pretty sure the part # is 50210. But Ill find out and get back.
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Fountain,MICHIGAN
    Posts
    856

    50210

    Quote Originally Posted by olds48
    I run thru an air filter and mufflers. Of course my "mufflers" are 4" bullets. If you can call those mufflers. It only stalls that high in high gear,I wish it was a tad looser. It really starts pulling at about 5000 rpm. I think my motor is over-cammed for the compression it has. I'll get my cam specs up when I find them. The lift is in the high 700" range and the duration is really probably too much for my comp ratio. Aah,the joys of buying other peoples take outs Its a lunati cam. pretty sure the part # is 50210. But Ill find out and get back.
    You NEVER have Posted what INTAKE and carb you have?
    Wow,Way tooo much BumpStick!!!
    320/334
    766/744
    110 LS
    108
    Power band on the Cam,45-8200.
    You NEED 6000 min.Stall.But with that Duration,it will NEVER Happen!
    Your just Barely touching the Power when you Shift!
    Need to Shift @ 7500.You would Be surprised,how it will Pull above 6500 to 8000!
    Change the Stick,and get the Converter to PTC and have the Boys LOOSEN it up!!

    Later
    G 8)
    Green BULBS and WIN Lights!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    La.
    Posts
    2,890
    I agree with G/Greg, way too much cam. I did forget to mention that we launch @ 4600, and have cheapie headers, either 1 7/8" or 2" i've forgot now. I think we paid $190.00 for the headers with muffler flanges and 3 1/2" collectors. O'h by the way PTC is the best in my opinion (sheeh!! ops: also a person friend for yrs. and yrs.) and the only converter i and most of my friends run. I also forgot to mention the car runs low 10.30'[email protected] on motor only.

    Greg, i'm not so sure i would loosen the converter up with that heavy of a car. It should have plenty of torque if he goes to a smaller cam JMO

    I did have the car listed on RJ for $18,000.00, running. I had a person PM me and said he would like too buy the car but don't believe what you say. I told him send me a $500.00 deposit and bring the rest of $17,500 in cash with you. We'll go to the track and if it doesn't run that i'll give you back your deposit and split your gas cost for the trip. Patented saying (bobr) K'O'ed first round. Never heard from him again.


    Zip.

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431
    Oops,sorry! It is a 1150 Dominator on a Professional Products intake. Everything is portmatched to a Felpro 1275 ( I think thats the one). I DID do alot of clean up work inside the intake due to HEAVY casting flash,but the runner seem to have a nice shape/flow to them. The previous cam I had was a Comp Magnum

    Previous cam: http://www.compcams.com/Company/CC/c...?csid=497&sb=2

    Your specs on my current cam are correct. I knew it was waaaay too big but it got for a song ($80?) and I did pick up two tenths with it. I have tried shifting as high as 7200 and saw no improvement at all. I believe the heads are tapped out at that point. They flow,out of the box, only 375 cfm at max and they peter out above 650 lift. The extra lift probably hurt me. The improvement I did see was probably a result of the extra duration. That Magnum cam had a real lazy lobe due to being a "street roller" as it is advertised. With the magnum can the car never 60'-ed better than a 1.650 ops: but would pull like mad on the topend.

    Another bit of info to throw in the mix. Like I said before,it has a manual vb th400. Twice I have accidentally left in 2nd gear. 60 foot,et and mph were all unaffected by this. Too much gear? Need a 'Glide? Just putting it out there.

    Thanks for the advice so far.I will say one thing...this cam sounds sooo good!It surprised me it will idle at 1,000 rpms,sorta,but it sound healthy! I'm wondering if I should re-cam or if I should repiston with...what would you say...14:1? Or do you think I am at a lack of airflow thru the heads for my current cam?
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy