Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: no oil to rockers?

  1. #1
    Junior Member SHOW GUEST
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Martinsville, In.
    Posts
    4

    no oil to rockers?

    just bought a car with what is supposed to be a fresh 383, took off the valve covers just to look, and noticed no oil to speak of. Started motor without valve covers and no oil through the push rods. checked and they are not pluged. Any ideas or troubleshooting tips ?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Does it have good oil pressure? Any chance it is a solid cam with oil restrictors?

  3. #3
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR bixblk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland area
    Posts
    472

    oil

    Does the car have an oil pressure gauge.,Does it have. oil pressure ?
    .If not check the oil level, Fill as needed
    You may have lost the oil pick up, you can overfill the oil pan and check if you get oil pressure. If not
    pull the distributor try and spin the pump, make sure the rod is there
    Try those things, JMO

  4. #4
    Junior Member SHOW GUEST
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Martinsville, In.
    Posts
    4
    Motor has oil pressure 50 psi, but it comes up slowly. level is good.
    Havn't taken the intake off, so don't know whats in there for lifters. was told flat tappet hyd.

    john

  5. #5
    Junior Member SHOW GUEST
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Martinsville, In.
    Posts
    4
    I just realized there is an oil filter for a 400 on the motor not one for a 350, not sure the difference or if it matters ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lost Creek, WV
    Posts
    533
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbulldogracing
    I just realized there is an oil filter for a 400 on the motor not one for a 350, not sure the difference or if it matters ?
    NO difference!!!

    TS1955

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    orland pk il
    Posts
    2,429
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbulldogracing
    I just realized there is an oil filter for a 400 on the motor not one for a 350, not sure the difference or if it matters ?
    ITS NOT A FRAM.....IS IT ?

  8. #8
    Junior Member SHOW GUEST
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Martinsville, In.
    Posts
    4
    STP 5S

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    EastWenatchee,WA
    Posts
    887
    I had some howards rollar lifters do that, they woundnt let any oil flow to top end, engine builder had me get some crower lifters and problem was solved
    when he went to pre lube motor, there was no oil going to top, the slit in lifter was to high on the howards

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbulldogracing
    STP 5S

    Fram makes STP filters.


    Only repeating what I've read online,however notice that fram and STP numbers are almost the same.

    example:

    fram PH5= FILTER FOR CHEVY V8

    STP 5S= STP FILTER FOR CHEVY V8

    ALSO These air filters.

    Fram CA192
    STP SA192

    just an observation on the part numbers

    Obviously I heard wrong.

    VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy