Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Need HELP WORKING ON SENSORS ON PT CRUISER

  1. #1
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    berea,ky
    Posts
    184

    Need HELP WORKING ON SENSORS ON PT CRUISER

    I am working on a Chrysler PT cruiser .The car runs fine when the computer is reset and the service light is off but when the service light comes on it won't rev past 2500 and acts like it hitting the rev limiter.Turn the service light off and it runs fine again.It is showing these codes P0016- Cam Sensor, P0113-IAT sensor, P0344-Cam position sensor, P0108-Map sensor.The cam position sensor has been replaced but is still showing up.Do you think it could be one of these sensors or would the computer be bad? Where should i start? This is a 2004 model with the 2.4 engine.I forgot to mention the car idles fine.

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    I can't help you but keep checking back..There is at least one member here that is a DODGE/CHRYSLER tech. If he sees this I'm sure he will offer up some advice. I won't post his name in case he doesn't want involved but he is a regular.

  3. #3

    Re: Need HELP WORKING ON SENSORS ON PT CRUISER

    Quote Originally Posted by lanham
    I am working on a Chrysler PT cruiser .The car runs fine when the computer is reset and the service light is off but when the service light comes on it won't rev past 2500 and acts like it hitting the rev limiter.Turn the service light off and it runs fine again.It is showing these codes P0016- Cam Sensor, P0113-IAT sensor, P0344-Cam position sensor, P0108-Map sensor.The cam position sensor has been replaced but is still showing up.Do you think it could be one of these sensors or would the computer be bad? Where should i start? This is a 2004 model with the 2.4 engine.I forgot to mention the car idles fine.
    First your gonna need someone with a scanner(with live data) to verify signal output voltage to the IAT,MAP CAM...All the codes combine indicate a possible short in the wiring.The output of the IAT is prob above 4.9 volts thus setting the code.The map and cam rely on a 5 volt "input" to work "function" with a signal voltage up to 4.9 volts. If theres a short to battery voltage(input side of sensors,or loss of ground,(above 5.0 volts) can cause these codes and go into a limp in mode.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    berea,ky
    Posts
    184
    I ended up changing the (Auto Zone)cam position sensor with an oem one from the Dodge dealership and it still does the same thing but when i checked it with my scanner all the other codes didn't show up only the cam position sensor code showed up.

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE mopar1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Abingdon,Virginia
    Posts
    3,579
    Replace the computer :!: Ngc controllers can only pickup a engine miss, you have to understand that when a engine misfires the RPM's change that is why it is setting the cam sensor code is because of the rpm change :!: The MAP code is from when the RPM change so does engine vacum so there for Map vacum changes causing this code :!: These engines do not have a IAT sensor [Intake Air Temp]. All NGC controllers has [IAT] built in for different car's. These controllers do not like voltage spikes and i would bet at one time or another someone either boosted from this car with it running or got a jump start to this car :!: I work at a Chrysler/Dodge dealership for 25 years now :!: Need any more help just holler :!: JMO Mark

    Watch using after market scanners, Chrysler scanners work off 7 volts, most after market work off 12 volts again you will be sending too much voltage to the controller.
    Head's up the true drag race!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by mopar1968
    Replace the computer :!: Ngc controllers can only pickup a engine miss, you have to understand that when a engine misfires the RPM's change that is why it is setting the cam sensor code is because of the rpm change :!: The MAP code is from when the RPM change so does engine vacum so there for Map vacum changes causing this code :!: These engines do not have a IAT sensor [Intake Air Temp]. All NGC controllers has [IAT] built in for different car's. These controllers do not like voltage spikes and i would bet at one time or another someone either boosted from this car with it running or got a jump start to this car :!: I work at a Chrysler/Dodge dealership for 25 years now :!: Need any more help just holler :!: JMO Mark

    Watch using after market scanners, Chrysler scanners work off 7 volts, most after market work off 12 volts again you will be sending too much voltage to the controller.
    Mark are you saying it is a NO NO to jump start these newer cars? If so, what do you do if you find yourself with a dead battery
    ? Is it best to unhook battery and charge it rather than jump start?

  7. #7
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    berea,ky
    Posts
    184
    Thanks for the help.

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE mopar1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Abingdon,Virginia
    Posts
    3,579
    Tod if you need a jump start on your car, Turn the boost car off and start your's off his battery, What happen's and this is for all makes is their car is running charging your battery then you crank yours and it starts now you have two altenators charging your battery for a few seconds the controller just can't handle this voltage before it can shut down the voltage has spiked it. Think about the spark when you remove the cables that is what is going thru the controller. welding archs :!: :!:
    Head's up the true drag race!!

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by mopar1968
    Replace the computer :!: These engines do not have a IAT sensor [Intake Air Temp].

    Watch using after market scanners, Chrysler scanners work off 7 volts, most after market work off 12 volts again you will be sending too much voltage to the controller.
    If He relaces the ECM might want to tell him he'll have to have it programed.Also the 2004 I worked on a few weks ago HAD a AIT or IAT in the air inlet right passed the air filter in the tube inlet.


  10. #10
    From my 20 plus years as a tech.Engine misfires usually show up ALSO as codes po300 Random misfire,or po301-304 for specific cylinder misfire.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy