Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: Oil pressure

  1. #1
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE mopar1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Abingdon,Virginia
    Posts
    3,579

    Oil pressure

    Just got thru rebuilding a 318 mopar magnum engine, At running temp the engine will not hold oil pressure @idle running temp it will fall to 0 psi, tried everything i know,everything in engine is new, tried three oil pumps, two were high volume, Have removed main cap's bearings in correctly, removed cam bearings in correctly, replaced pickup twice, Loosing the rest of my hair on this one :? :?



    ''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
    Head's up the true drag race!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE DirkaDirka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    1,954
    Well I would say take off the Fram oil filter and it might come back. j/k

    Have you checked the shaft that drives the oil pump?
    Its all fun and games till someone loses a nut!

    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/400466

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE fla1976's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,532
    Are you sure the gauge is accurate?

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE mopar1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Abingdon,Virginia
    Posts
    3,579
    Yes have a electric one that hooks up to engine test machine, shows engine temp, scope all cylinder's for power balance, etc, + manual gauge, both drops to 0 psi @200 degrees @ idle, no fram filter, mopar filter. Thought about that filter collapse Changed it but no help, Checked drive shaft good condition,start getting lifter tap shut her down quick, Added thing talked to owner about a hour ago he told me it was doing this same thing before i got to it. he was running it like this.


    ''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
    Head's up the true drag race!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE THERATTLER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
    Posts
    1,474
    MARK , It sounds like an oil passage plug has backed out somewhere , not sure how a mopar is made , but on some ford blocks there is a small freeze plug in lifter valley in an oil galley , had one come out and lose pressure , after I wrestled with oil pan to change pump , I removed intake and found the plug out ( lucked out ) , does mopar have any plugs behind timing gears??? if it was like that before then it has to be an open somehere since you changed everything else ...
    ***IN GOD WE TRUST***GOD BLESS AMERICA******

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    kingsport tn
    Posts
    1,735
    pesiol sludged up that fast huh? j/k had a 350 lost oil pressure one day never came back at least what 2 gauges said ran that way for 6 months brfore had a chance to tear down no damage and never figured it out just damn lucky hows the pick up tube? just idea but maybe a small crack and expands when warmed up
    CRIMEDOG
    Sam Wood

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE mopar1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Abingdon,Virginia
    Posts
    3,579
    No mopar doesn't have those plug's, It has two holes there so oil can run out on timing chain then the oil goes down the front cover to pan.Changed pickup tube twice.
    Head's up the true drag race!!

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE THERATTLER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
    Posts
    1,474
    lets assume that it IS pumping since you changed everything , it is not making it to the lifters , so there is an opening between the pump and the lifter passages somewhere,,either that or some reason it just not pumping , can you spin the pump with dist out and see if its pumping , does mopar have the sealing rings around dist shaft where it passes thru oil galley????
    ***IN GOD WE TRUST***GOD BLESS AMERICA******

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE mopar1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Abingdon,Virginia
    Posts
    3,579
    Ok the magnum engine is setup just like chevy engine oil's thru push rod's to rockers, does good untill engine get's running temp then you can watch it just trickle away. Running 10w30 oil. Now this engine is not in the truck it is on a break in stand with all the gauges, tach,raditor, etc.
    Head's up the true drag race!!

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    orland pk il
    Posts
    2,429
    lifter bore clearance not excessive?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy