Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sifting on time instead of RPM

  1. #1
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Red Deer, AB Canada
    Posts
    213

    Sifting on time instead of RPM

    I have a BBC super comp dragster with a powerglide. Right now the transmission shifting is being controlled on RPM (7400) by my Biondo Mega 450. I would like to figure what time interval I should enter into the box, for a starting point, to allow the shift into second gear when the box is controlling the shift by time. I am not using the throttle stop at this time.

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998

    Re: Sifting on time instead of RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by kod99
    I have a BBC super comp dragster with a powerglide. Right now the transmission shifting is being controlled on RPM (7400) by my Biondo Mega 450. I would like to figure what time interval I should enter into the box, for a starting point, to allow the shift into second gear when the box is controlling the shift by time. I am not using the throttle stop at this time.
    use the playback tach and find where it hits 7400 and shift on the timer.

    FYI its illegal nhra and ihra to shift the car by the mega 450 rpm and have the tach wire hooked to it :shock:
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Red Deer, AB Canada
    Posts
    213

    Re: Sifting on time instead of RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by hammertime
    Quote Originally Posted by kod99
    I have a BBC super comp dragster with a powerglide. Right now the transmission shifting is being controlled on RPM (7400) by my Biondo Mega 450. I would like to figure what time interval I should enter into the box, for a starting point, to allow the shift into second gear when the box is controlling the shift by time. I am not using the throttle stop at this time.
    use the playback tach and find where it hits 7400 and shift on the timer.

    FYI its illegal nhra and ihra to shift the car by the mega 450 rpm and have the tach wire hooked to it :shock:

    Thanks, David. I haven't looked at the playback tach yet. I assume it shows time and RPM? When I had the chassis certified the NHRA inspector told me that I had to not only unhook the tach wire from the box but cut the dash enough so the tech inspector would be able to see the tach terminal on the box. I assume this is only for sanctioned events?
    Does anyone shift their dragster manually? Is it possible without causing damage?

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998

    Re: Sifting on time instead of RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by kod99
    Quote Originally Posted by hammertime
    Quote Originally Posted by kod99
    I have a BBC super comp dragster with a powerglide. Right now the transmission shifting is being controlled on RPM (7400) by my Biondo Mega 450. I would like to figure what time interval I should enter into the box, for a starting point, to allow the shift into second gear when the box is controlling the shift by time. I am not using the throttle stop at this time.
    use the playback tach and find where it hits 7400 and shift on the timer.

    FYI its illegal nhra and ihra to shift the car by the mega 450 rpm and have the tach wire hooked to it :shock:

    Thanks, David. I haven't looked at the playback tach yet. I assume it shows time and RPM? When I had the chassis certified the NHRA inspector told me that I had to not only unhook the tach wire from the box but cut the dash enough so the tech inspector would be able to see the tach terminal on the box. I assume this is only for sanctioned events?
    Does anyone shift their dragster manually? Is it possible without causing damage?
    He is right on the tach wire but dead wrong on cutting your dash. All ihra or nhra events are this way, bracket racing or div/nat racing. Think of it this way, you won and someone says check his tach wire. Busted and your now labeled a cheater :shock:

    You can shift manually but its not consistent, add a rpm switch and be done with it.
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hobbs, NM
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sifting on time instead of RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by kod99
    Quote Originally Posted by hammertime
    Quote Originally Posted by kod99
    I have a BBC super comp dragster with a powerglide. Right now the transmission shifting is being controlled on RPM (7400) by my Biondo Mega 450. I would like to figure what time interval I should enter into the box, for a starting point, to allow the shift into second gear when the box is controlling the shift by time. I am not using the throttle stop at this time.
    use the playback tach and find where it hits 7400 and shift on the timer.

    FYI its illegal nhra and ihra to shift the car by the mega 450 rpm and have the tach wire hooked to it :shock:

    Thanks, David. I haven't looked at the playback tach yet. I assume it shows time and RPM? When I had the chassis certified the NHRA inspector told me that I had to not only unhook the tach wire from the box but cut the dash enough so the tech inspector would be able to see the tach terminal on the box. I assume this is only for sanctioned events?
    Does anyone shift their dragster manually? Is it possible without causing damage?
    Yes its possible and won't damage anything, but Not if you want to go to the later rounds. In our Southwest Super Charger class they don't allow electronic shifting and everybody shifts manually. The magic word being everybody. In bracket racing you'll be one of the only ones manually shifting, big disadvantage IMO.

  6. #6
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Napier, New Zealand
    Posts
    230
    You wouldn't want to be shifting by time would you? If you have any launch problem it may shift too soon.
    It Ain't Over Til Its NOVA - 634ci of S*#t Your Pants!

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Quote Originally Posted by chevyfireball
    You wouldn't want to be shifting by time would you? If you have any launch problem it may shift too soon.
    Time shifting actually works very well but car has to go down the track all the time.
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy