Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PG vs. th350/400 on the street

Member MASTER JOURNEYMAN

PG vs. th350/400 on the street

What is your opinions on a powerglide trans vs. a th350/400 trans on a street/strip car? Please discuss.

I know that the PG is recommended for the track, but how have you guys liked them on a street driven/non daily-driver?

Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    PG will give you the most mpg, less hp to turn. 350 will give you more than a 400 also. 400 is the strongest, probably will never break it. Of course, I am a little biased, I have been running 400's since 1980 except for a few months in 85 when I had a 66 Chevy 1/2 ton with a 350/PG combo. Man, those were the days.

Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    You have to compromise. The TH400 would be best on the street but the powerglide has been a lot better for me on the strip.
    It Ain't Over Til Its NOVA - 634ci of S*#t Your Pants!

Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    I'd run the three speed on the street just because of the lower first gear ratio....it will be more fun to drive.You're not looking for consistancy just something fun to drive. Just my opinion.

Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    th400 gets my vote, ive seen mid 8s with mine in the quarter

Mileage? We don't worry bout no stinkin mileage.

T-400 all the way. It can hold a ton more power than a comparable PG, and to build a PG to hold the same power costs a LOT more.
    -WJ Birmingham

OneBadGMC.com

i gotta laugh gmc you are soooooo right!!! on my th400 vehicles milage is not in the equation!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: i have three vehicles with em.best trans made for green horned hicks like me that dont wanna mess with the computer assisted trannies