Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: trans-brake

  1. #1
    Member JOURNEYMAN
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Slidell Louisiana
    Posts
    34

    trans-brake

    Hey gang
    i have a 2-spd-pg ,with brake...most likely a pro brake i have ist but not reverse.. my ques. is are the plungers spring loaded,in the brake and engage when you hit the button ,then pop back out...mine does not..if i pull plunger out by hand and hit the button it goes in but doesn't com back out,, have tried in nutr. and rev. no reverse..
    Dale

  2. #2
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    alberta,canada
    Posts
    166
    A pro brake works by either having it in neutral or reverse and usuing the trans brake button at the same time........not sure if u r depressing the button thought i would throw that in..........and the plunger on the solenoid doesn't depress if u r press the button and let it off.........only when u actually use it does

  3. #3
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Owingsville, Ky
    Posts
    157
    Dale,
    The spool valve on my full tree brakes are spring loaded and I think that the ones on a pro tree brake are also. Was the transmission working before or did you just get this one? If you just got this one, I would unscrew the transbrake solenoid and make sure that the spool valve is there. You will need to drain some fluid or have the rear of the transmission higher than the front. Maybe somebody went to change the solenoid and the spool valve came out and didn't get replaced.

    Bill Mitchell

  4. #4
    Member JOURNEYMAN
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Slidell Louisiana
    Posts
    34
    just got this one..cant beleive the seller AT ALL.. Iwas dumb enough to belive him...There is no pre load the sol plunger it moves back an forth freely if i pull it out by hand then hit the button it goes in and stays even when you let off the button....still no rev. The sol unscrews ?dont have to take off pan?
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Owingsville, Ky
    Posts
    157
    To see if the spool valve is under the transbrake solenoid, you do not have to remove the pan. The solenoid will unscrew and you should see the valve. I use a magnet to pull it out if it won't spring out. If the valve isn't there, then you will have to pull the pan to see exactly which transbrake valve body you have, so that you can replace the valve (not interchangeable between brands) or the complete valve body.

    Since your solenoid will go in (reverse should be working even if there isn't a spring to make it come back out and release reverse) and you don't have reverse it makes me think that the spool valve was left out or is not the correct one for the valve body.

    Bill Mitchell

  6. #6
    Member JOURNEYMAN
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Slidell Louisiana
    Posts
    34
    Thanks Bill
    That give me something to work whth will pull it out first thing... trying to get going for sat. big show down here this week....will order one no problem just wanta be sure . Ihave 1-st so makes me think its the brake.
    Dale

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    austin texas
    Posts
    729
    a fluid release pro tree vb does not use a spring, to make it spring return. such as a hipster by hughes and bte pro brakes.

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    Not all brakes use a spring, some are fluid release. Some pro-tree brakes also require case mods, and won't work right without them. If you pull it out at some point, see if it has the hole pointed out here. If it does, it needs case work.


    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    austin texas
    Posts
    729
    so does the tranny not work? what is the problem?

  10. #10
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Owingsville, Ky
    Posts
    157
    He stated that he just got the transmission and it has 1st, but no reverse. The solenoid will activate and go in, but there is not any reverse at anytime and the plunger will not come back out. It could be like Mark said that the case is needing the extra holes drilled to pressurize reverse (the case mods that I had seen were for extra dump for the Pro-brake) or the spool valve could have been left out completely.



    Bill Mitchell


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy