Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 8896 dominator question

  1. #1
    Junior Member APPRENTICE
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12

    8896 dominator question

    i have a 3 circuit 8896 dominator i see that you guys are able to change them to a 2-curcuit deal i have a set of metering blocks off a 8082 2-curcuit carb can i just swap them out and put them on my 8896 dominator carb or is there more to it thanks

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Junior Member APPRENTICE
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12
    i read the threads and its all foreign to me it there any instructions or pictuers of this procedure in detail so i can follow them to do the mods or is there anybody i can contact for this info im not very carb savy so i need some help in this area thanks again paul

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    The motorsports village threads do have picts. If it is not something you want to tackle, Gary Stinnett does the conversions.
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  5. #5
    Junior Member APPRENTICE
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12
    does gary have a e-mail address or contact number to get a hold of him
    id like to get this carb converted to a 2- curcuit deal thanks mark again for the info

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  7. #7
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    558
    I wish Holley should do this right from them , I hear about this all the time, I to would like to learn more about it .Ive read the info on it David.

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Why change it over? what is wrong with a 3 circuit? That MV thread that talks about it confuses me.

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    It seems to be hit or miss with the model # and the engine it goes on. I have an older non-HP 9375 1050, this seems to be the best out of the box in terms of metering on a single 4 engine even though it is supposed to be a 2-4 carb. My brother has an HP 8896, with the intermediate air bleeds removed it works OK, but we have not had O2's on it. My 8896 never worked right, I started to do the conversion, but ended up converting a 1250 instead and works great. If you read the threads, Tuner explains the origin of the 3rd circuit. There are instances where it helps and can be made to work, for most bracket cars it just complicates things. But everyone has to have newer and more, thinking 3 circuit has to be better than 2. Just doesn't always work that way.
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Mine is the older 8896 before they went to the HP. It works ok except the thing always idles fat. I will read those threads closer.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy