Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: vibration after torque converter install

  1. #1
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colebrook Connecticut
    Posts
    425

    vibration after torque converter install

    problem is a slight vibration @around 4200 that i think is the torque converter.
    im thinking that maybe reclock the converter to the flexplate ?
    you think that might help?

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    La.
    Posts
    2,890
    If it's possible, i would slide the trans back with the converter engaged to trans. enough to get an indicator up to the hub and check run-out while spinning the converter by hand, more than .002 it could be the problem. If there is no run out open up the flywheel hole 1/64" in case there is a bind.

    JMO

    Zip.

  3. #3
    Administrator RACING JUNKIE bjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville s.c.
    Posts
    3,239
    do you have the converter shimmed up to the flex plate? if so how much?
    Bjuice..

    "I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "

  4. #4
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colebrook Connecticut
    Posts
    425
    didnt need shims
    but I think the vibes are from a bad/wrong balancer.
    still vibrates with converter disconnected

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    What engine?
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  6. #6
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colebrook Connecticut
    Posts
    425
    406 smallblock

  7. #7
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rifle Colorado
    Posts
    585
    Is it internally or externally balanced? Stock 400 is external but the trend is to internal balance them for hp use. Flexplate and dampner are different depending on which way which way it's balanced....

  8. #8
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colebrook Connecticut
    Posts
    425
    its extrenally balanced for sure

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    If you are using stock or stock replacement pistons , rods and crank you need the balancer and flexplate/flywheel for a 400. If any have been replaced with aftermarket parts the weight changes and the assembly needs to be balanced.
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by bjuice
    do you have the converter shimmed up to the flex plate? if so how much?
    How much shim is acceptable?I'm running 1/4" ops: Both converters I've run needed same amount.Seems like alot to me.Half tempted to order next converter setup for a mid-plate just to take up the slack
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy