Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: glide or th350 for fed?

  1. #1
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431

    glide or th350 for fed?

    Redoing a fed I just bought off buddy.170" wb ,4.10 gear and 32" tires.Setup for smallblock.Not looking for something real fast,6-6.5 in the 1/8.Setup with th350,would glide suck off line?Pros and Cons,please
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln

  2. #2
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wylie,Texas
    Posts
    276
    I had a 164" Davis FED for seven years, it was my first race car. I wouldnt put anything in it but a Powerglide. I ran a 377 SBC in it on alcohol with 292 turbo heads and it ran 5.70,s in the 1/8th. It was the most fun i have had racing. Don

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Lenoir City Tennessee
    Posts
    865
    id go with a glide. less turning weight and the car isnt going to weigh much

  4. #4

    glide

    Glide, we have a guy at our track that is running 5.38-40 with a fed. Has done pretty good this year too. I know cause he has bought my dinner about a dozen times this season.

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    You will run quicker, more consistant, and launch smoother with the glide.
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431
    Wow :shock: Didn't expect that!I was leaning toward the th350.Figured it would help the launch since I'm not building much of a motor.What do you guys think about on stall speed?
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    Stall will depend on the engine combo you end up with. From your other posts, that is still undecided. When you get a handle on it we can give you a range to look for.
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  8. #8
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rifle Colorado
    Posts
    585
    Definately a glide. You'll need a shorter tire too. Mine had 4.30's and 31x13 goodyears and worked really well. Feds just weren't designed for big tires....

  9. #9
    Administrator RACING JUNKIE bjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville s.c.
    Posts
    3,239
    you will get more wheel speed from a 350/400 turbo...also do you plan on running a trans brake or just gonna foot brake the car?......the transbreak is more costly in the 350 turbo on the average then A GLIDE...

    if ya not gonna have a ton of motor..i would say a 400 or a 350 turbo would suit ya as well as a glide ( taking no sides here).

    my wife runs a TCI 350 Turbo in her 406ci full bodied 69 camaro..no complaints here..

    I tell ya what...here is how i would make my decison if i where in your shoes.....if i had a 2 speed glide shifter i would go with glide..if i had a turbo shifter i would go with 350 turbo...one step further if my tranny mount cross member was set up for a turbo 400 then i would go this route..

    as you can see i do not lean much either way with your set up..its really not going to make a world of difference...the wheel speed you pick up with the turbo will off set the hp you lose to turn it..vs Glide.

    My opinion...plus your key words was " not looking for something real fast".with this said whatever engine combo you go with..lean toward the tighter converter..if your not looking for something that will get up on the power band and walk...

    Bjuice
    Bjuice..

    "I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montvale, VA
    Posts
    1,431
    I'm shooting for about 425-450hp.The 32" tires were for ground clearance,only.Losing an inch or so on tire height shouldn't affect clearance or gearing much either way.The car is set up for a 350.I think a glide/350 will just interchange(output yoke,case lentgh,mount location),am I right in this?I've always had 4 speeds and 400s,so thyis is all unfamiliar to me.Thanks for all the info everyone.And yes ,I am gonna footbrake it.What's nostalgic about a transbrake :?
    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you cannot confirm their validity"- Abraham Lincoln


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy