Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: setting total timing

  1. #1
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    86

    setting total timing

    Let's say TDC on my motor is at the 5 degree mark on my balancer. I want my motor running at 35 degrees total. Would I add 35 degrees to my 5 degree TDC mark and set it at the 40 degree mark on balancer?

    -Tanner

  2. #2
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    139
    Yep. That'll work. Also Mr. Gasket makes an adjustable pointer where you can set the pointer to point at 0 instead of 5. Makes it less confusing but the way you're asking will work fine too.

    George
    http://www.gdmii.com/pics/81launchvidcapsig.jpg
    1981 Camaro @ 2594 lbs.
    496 cu. in. on 1150 Rupert alky
    Brodix BB2X heads touched by the magic hands of Curtis Boggs
    [email protected] Best 60' 1.18
    www.motorsportsvillage.com

  3. #3
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    86
    Thanks, just one of those little but important things you wanna make sure your thinking in the right direction about.

  4. #4
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    VA Hospital, Dallas, Tx (214 302 1924) cell-972-464-7400
    Posts
    540
    Let's say TDC on my motor is at the 5 degree mark on my balancer
    Let's say You better check to be sure you don't have a balancer on the way to destruction.

    Ed
    " Let all things that hath breath, praise the Lord. Praise Ye the Lord" Psalms 150 vs 6.

  5. #5
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    86
    I was just throwing that number out there for easy math.

  6. #6
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bedford, Ohio
    Posts
    86
    Here ya go..... http://www.competitionproducts.com/p...s.asp?dept=616
    I had one (a bit used) in an engine I traded for so I just bought two more for the two I'm building right now. Fully adjustable, but make sure you don't stab yourself as I did with the tip, it's sharp!

  7. #7
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tell City, IN
    Posts
    356
    I set my timing by revving the motor to 3000RPM and put in the timing I want on my light and I move the distributer until it reaches "0" and then I shut it down and tighten down the distributer then a quick recheck to see if it is still there..Is this the same principle?..

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,044
    Thats exactly the method I use, verifying that the pointer is aligned with TDC first.
    Cp
    ***IN GOD WE TRUST***

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by us7race
    I set my timing by revving the motor to 3000RPM and put in the timing I want on my light and I move the distributer until it reaches "0" and then I shut it down and tighten down the distributer then a quick recheck to see if it is still there..Is this the same principle?..
    If you are talking about the dial back timing lights...I thought they were a no-no if you run an MSD ignition. :?

  10. #10
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tell City, IN
    Posts
    356
    Not sure mine is a Digital Acutron Timing light..I have never been told not to use it..


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy