Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: torque converter won't line up with flywheel

  1. #1
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    72

    torque converter won't line up with flywheel

    i have a new torque converter from tci just put body back on frame of car know the torque converter holes are all off a fraction except for one. if i get a tap same size as torque converter bolts and run thru will this hurt anything i don't want to have to take body back off or should i call tci on monday any other ideas how to fix?

  2. #2
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wylie,Texas
    Posts
    276
    Is the flywheel new also?

  3. #3
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    72
    no

  4. #4
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wylie,Texas
    Posts
    276
    I dont thick it wil hurt to clean the holes out. Ive put in new flywheels and forgot to clean the new paint out with a drill bit and had to thread the bolt through the hole the first time. Its unlikely the holes are off on the converter. Could just be the new paint.

  5. #5
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    72
    i worked 2 1/2 hours trying to get them started i'm pretty sure their off but their so close i can get them started but cross thredded only and there all off the same direction so the bolt tilts the same way on each one thats why i think they are off they must have a machine that taps them all the same time and it was off a hair

  6. #6
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wylie,Texas
    Posts
    276
    What kind of converter is it?

  7. #7
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    72
    its a tci turbo 400 i had them match it to my engine its a 632 945 hp the tranny is also new tci there racing tranny

  8. #8
    I've never seen a torque converter or a flywheel with threaded holes. I just line up the holes push the bolt thru and put a nut on it. Any way just drill out the holes on the flywheel a little bigger. Converter will not slip if bolts are torqued correctly.

  9. #9
    Member MASTER JOURNEYMAN
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    38
    ALWAYS trial fit this before your engine is in the car if possible...They are too often off by very small amounts,just enough to make your day miserable

  10. #10
    I had same problem with my new TCI conv.just open up the holes a tad with a die grinder or drill.(i used die grinder,keep as tight as possible.)I have many hours no problems.Actually my converter even came with literature TELLING me I might have to do this.Yours should have too,maybe they forgot to pac it.Don`t worry it is normal you won`t have any grief later,just take your time & only remove material that you have to,good luck.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy