Racingjunk Forums

Racingjunk Forums (https://www.racingjunk.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://www.racingjunk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Important tool advice..For all do it your selfers (https://www.racingjunk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17955)

bignastygs 07-29-2007 05:00 AM

Important tool advice..For all do it your selfers

Yesterday,I received my 3 inch suspension lift kit for my 1998 Tacoma. I decided to take the kit out and try to install the front pieces then finish the rear today.Good idea,bad outcome..First, I have been working on vehicles of all types for over 35 years and I have alot of good tools. I started by jacking up the truck and placing the jackstands underneath it. I removed the shock(macspherson style spring shock) and removed it. I then proceeded to remove the spring from the old shock and had no problems. This is where things went terribly wrong.I used myspring compressor and removed he spring from the shock and thought all was going well. I needed to compress the spring about another inch as I had to install an aluminum block underneath the stock plate the shock stud goes through. I was using an air gun tightening both sides equally,when bang...the one side of the compressor slid on the spring toward the other one on the opposite side. The bolt on the compressor is 5/8's or thicker and pinned my thumb into the spring underneath the bolt. I couldn't get my thumb to move and seen it was immediately turning purple. Luckily, my daughter was out there with me as I generally go there myself.I had the foresight to pick up the spring and run into the garage and I told Sarah to grab a drop cord and plug my metal bandsaw in. I started to cut the bolt off the end(luckily it was past the top of the compressor fingers) so I could get the pressure off my thumb. As it was cutting it I got a little excited and it pulled the bandsaw blade off its pulleys and it stopped cutting. I then raced over and got a wrench and slid the