Racingjunk Forums

Racingjunk Forums (https://www.racingjunk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Engine Tech (https://www.racingjunk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Internal balance crankshaft (https://www.racingjunk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18611)

amal 10-11-2007 07:10 AM

Internal balance crankshaft

Hi all

Dose it requires to use harmonic damper when my crankshaft has internal balance.

Thanks for all

Tod74 10-11-2007 07:21 AM

You don't HAVE to...but you should...at least that's my opinion. Sprint car guys don't use them.At least none that I know do.

gearhead37683 10-11-2007 10:22 AM

i think you should run a balancer even if your engine is internaly ballanced,just because is lessens harmful vibrations,that can beat your bearings out, not unless it is on a engine that gets tore down alot
im no expert,so this is just my opinion, but there is alot of good engine guys here that will probably be chiming in soon with a answer for you

edvancedengines 10-11-2007 11:47 AM

A Harmonic Dampener is not a Balancer. It is just called a Balancer. I wish that name had never been stuck onto it, becuase it is confusing to a lot of people.

Only when the Harmonic Balancer has additional weights to one side of it is it sued in connection with the balancing. That was a GM and Chrysler brainstrom to use in engines thay did not have enough internal counterweights on. They counter balanced the crank by the adding of weights to both ends to in effect be like an additional counterweight on each end. Chevy used a weighted flywheeel and an offset weigth in the Harmonic Dampener, (Ar times also called a Harmonic Balancer). Chrysler added additional weights to the one side of torque convertor and also used a weight offset on the Harmonic Dampener. Then and only then is it used in connection with babancing.