PDA

View Full Version : inline diode from transbrake. why

andybyrd
06-20-2009, 11:33 AM
I'm new at this so I don't know anything about these diodes. I could'nt get my two step to work with my brake so I bipassed the diode that was in the line and it worked perfect. so what is the diode used for and is it a must. Thanks for any help.
Andy

curtisreed
06-20-2009, 01:15 PM
Not sure if it is the case with yours, but I have a diode wired up so I can back up, (pro brake), with a switch other than my normal transbrake switch and it does not back feed into the delay box starting the delay.

Curtis

andybyrd
06-21-2009, 07:28 AM
Thank you dooracer.I have not tryed it yet but I bet thats what its for.
Thanks Again Andy

Tod74
06-21-2009, 07:39 AM
I have a question...why is it a pro brake you need to hold a button to back up? what is the difference between a pro brake and the other? My powerglide has a COAN brake in it and I can back up just by putting it in reverse.

andybyrd
06-21-2009, 07:40 AM
dooracer I may have read your post wrong. are you saying you have two switches, one to back up with and one for the transbrake, or one switch with a wired in diode thats used for the transbrake and for backing up. Mine only has one switch. and now that i've cut the diode out I don't remember exacatly but would it go between the two step box and the button. and Todd I don't know that answer someone smarter than I will have to answer that.
thanks Andy

oobob
06-21-2009, 03:49 PM
With a pro brake, the fluid has 2 ways of releasing the pressure applied to the reverse, verses 1 way with a bracket brake. This is the reason a probrake gives faster reaction times.

curtisreed
06-21-2009, 04:59 PM