PDA

View Full Version : Mopar starter question....


TheYellaBrick
04-25-2009, 06:02 AM
Engine application; 400 BB - 12.1 compression

I have a brand new Mopar Performance high torque mini that does not spin the engine over very fast. It also seems to pull a ton of amps as it won't fire unless I hook up my battery charger and set it to '200 amp jump' mode. ZIP- and it pops right off. I added another Optima red top to pump up the available amperage with no change. That makes 2 brand new red tops in the starting system.

Any Mopar heads had this same experience with the MP mini ? I'm gonna switch it out and try a 383 short armature stocker and see what happens.

TheYellaBrick
04-29-2009, 06:16 PM
Dug out a good used Mopar starter, took it apart, cleaned / lubed,reassemble , test, installed. ZIP ! POP ! RUMBLE ! WAPPA ! WAPPA !

Took apart that brand new Mopar Perf high torque mini and it is a royal POS !! MAJOR design issues and the brushes were all beat up from original assembly. All the fasteners are metric so ya KNOW where it was 'built'. JUNK

cepx111
04-30-2009, 09:14 PM
Maybe they meant it took high torque to turn the starter over?

dparker
04-30-2009, 10:08 PM
You may need a Mopar engine to turn over the starter.........