Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Battery Disconnect

  1. #1
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Iowa - USA
    Posts
    218

    Battery Disconnect

    Like all race cars, I have the battery wired through a external (on the fender) disconnect switch. I would like to be able to shut down the batteries from my seat as well. Lokar makes a disconnect that attaches to the shofter but it looks like it uses another big switch, I would like to run the hot side to a switch so that both switches have to be on. Anybody got any ideas?

  2. #2
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    337
    If something happens, there needs to be one switch outside to turn everything off! You could run a rod to the existing switch that would turn the switch off and on from two places, inside and out.

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE TheYellaBrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Emmett, Idaho
    Posts
    7,334
    AGREED, or a push/pull cable( available online )

    https://www.google.com/search?q=%22p...ient=firefox-a

    ---------------------------------
    TRUTH is HATE
    to those who
    HATE TRUTH

    God Bless our folks in uniform
    "We the People, have your backs"
    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/279898

  4. #4
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    337
    Affirmative, on the cable! :wink:

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE TheRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Augusta, Ga.
    Posts
    2,295
    I have a Moroso master cut off switch on the back and I have one of these to turn on / off power inside.

    http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/STI...120903225046:s

  6. #6
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    337
    Yep, as long as outside turns off everything surely would work.
    I was thinking about a dragster I had once, and it was setup to use the same switch with a rod running to it from outside behind the rear and another to the driver compartment. Don't have one in my present car, but may look into it with a switch like that! Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Iowa - USA
    Posts
    218
    Are you using this switch to disconnect power to the ignition, such as a Painless type switch, or the leads from the battery itself?

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE TheRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Augusta, Ga.
    Posts
    2,295
    I dont use a manufactured switch panel. I made mine and use relays to power water pump, fan, fuel pump,etc. This switch kills all power at my terminal strip. It kills power to everything when i hit it. I also have a seperate ignition switch so i can turn the motor over then flip ignition on after motor is turning over. The kill switch is mounted just in front of my shifter.

    You could use it in line to cut power off / on to a switch panel very easy. I dont like having to fumble around in an emergeny situation trying to find a small kill switch thats mounted in a switch panel.

  9. #9
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Iowa - USA
    Posts
    218
    I use a panel from Digital Delay. Very nice. Like the one you built, it has relays and is fused. I think I am going to go with your idea and mount the kill button as conspicuos as possible. Excuse the spelling.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy