Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: what did i do wrong ? where is my problem?

  1. #1
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    nekoosa wisconsin
    Posts
    308

    what did i do wrong ? where is my problem?

    76 camaro 3500 lbs
    350 stock bottom end as far as i know it came with car and i rebuilt the top end
    9.3:1
    477/477 cam and 268/268 duration
    1.94/1.5 heads
    edelbrok torker intake holley 750 (kind big)
    should make 300 hp atleast sounds like 350-400

    th350
    2000 stall
    3.73 gears
    with m/t 29/12.5/15 sprotsman pros

    my problem is its a complete dog it wont spin the tires at all where should i look for my problem im not sure if trans and tourqe converter are good they cam with the car and we test drove it with the vaccum modulator not hooked up im not sure if this make a diffrence or not i know the tires are big but the motor sounds great rev's up nice

    im willing to change the gears and such to get me going just looking for suggestions but building another motor is out of the question im on a tight budget

    any help is appreciated
    thanks logan

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    EastWenatchee,WA
    Posts
    887
    a loser convertor, say a 3200-3500 would help a lot and some deeper gears for sure
    and a properly tuned 650 dp carb
    that all would help a lot

  3. #3
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    nekoosa wisconsin
    Posts
    308
    deeper gears as in higher? i was looking at 4.56's or 4.88's it gonna be a street car mainly might take it to the track once in a while so im not worried about running out of rpm's at the big end

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE curtisreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    KIEFER, OK.
    Posts
    1,309
    Since you did not build the bottom end, did you check the cam to make sure it was degreed right? Did you do a compression and leak down test? Have you verified the timing pointer? Just some stuff that can really kill power. It may not set the world on fire with what you have but you should at least be able so spin the tires.

    The gears are fine just not ideal if just a race car. The carb is fine also just maybe not ideal.

    My 2 cents.

    Curtis

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    EastWenatchee,WA
    Posts
    887
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbigtrucks
    deeper gears as in higher? i was looking at 4.56's or 4.88's it gonna be a street car mainly might take it to the track once in a while so im not worried about running out of rpm's at the big end
    yes some 4.56 gears, my wife has a 67 c10 shortbed, full street truck, 4,000lbs or more, has a worn out 355 my old motor all stock except 470 lift cam, has 3500 convertor and 4:56 gears, has hei and a 700 dp carb runs 13.80-13.90's and has ran a best of 13.71

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Niagara Falls, NY
    Posts
    965
    whats the over all timing set at ? i think a 650 carb and 3000 or higher converter will help :wink:
    GOOD PARTS AREN'T CHEAP AND CHEAP PARTS ARE NEVER GOOD.........
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...lastscan-3.jpg

  7. #7
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    337
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbigtrucks
    deeper gears as in higher? i was looking at 4.56's or 4.88's it gonna be a street car mainly might take it to the track once in a while so im not worried about running out of rpm's at the big end
    Just FYI Logan,

    Actually, the 4.56 and 4.88 gears are lower than the 3.73

  8. #8
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    nekoosa wisconsin
    Posts
    308
    i know there numerically high but actually lower

  9. #9
    Senior Member EXPERT BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    nekoosa wisconsin
    Posts
    308
    how should i degree the cam i just lined the dots up on the timing chain and put the cam
    how should i go about degreeing the cam ive never done it before

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE curtisreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    KIEFER, OK.
    Posts
    1,309
    This is instructions on how to degree a cam. You will need the info on the cam to do it though.

    http://www.cranecams.com/uploads/instructions/803.pdf


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy