Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MSD Crank Trigger Sensor...

  1. #1
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE BEAST477's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,908

    MSD Crank Trigger Sensor...

    Is it possible for a crank trigger to seem to run ok but missfire at higher rpms? I thought they either worked or not. :? :?
    Here's what I've got going on. Car seems to run ok till I leave the line and try to get over 6000 rpms. It starts missfiring. So I disconnected it and hooked back to the distributor and it will turn 7600 at the stripe. :shock:
    BEAST477






    Only a rich man can afford to use cheap parts.

    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/177549

  2. #2
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rifle Colorado
    Posts
    585
    Did you check the rotor phasing when you installed the crank trigger? I suppose that a sensor could break down and cause it to miss at high rpm.....but I've haven't seen it happen....yet. You may be picking up some EMI from plug wires or plugs with the long lead to the crank trigger. Make sure it's routed away from any high voltage sources.
    Johnny

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998

    Re: MSD Crank Trigger Sensor...

    Quote Originally Posted by BEAST477
    Is it possible for a crank trigger to seem to run ok but missfire at higher rpms? I thought they either worked or not. :? :?
    Here's what I've got going on. Car seems to run ok till I leave the line and try to get over 6000 rpms. It starts missfiring. So I disconnected it and hooked back to the distributor and it will turn 7600 at the stripe. :shock:
    what do you have the gap set at ? and rotor phased I assume ?
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE BEAST477's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,908
    Sorry guys, yes the rotor is phased. I'll have to double check the gap on the sensor.
    BEAST477






    Only a rich man can afford to use cheap parts.

    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/177549

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Quote Originally Posted by BEAST477
    Sorry guys, yes the rotor is phased. I'll have to double check the gap on the sensor.
    I've seen only a few things with the crank triggers, sometimes the pickup goes bad or sometimes a magnet flys off the wheel. But typically them are both missing all the way. The gap between the wheel and sensor is where I see higher rpm misses.
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Napier, New Zealand
    Posts
    230
    You want to make sure you have the replacement wiring for the trigger that MSD came up with a while back. It has shielded wiring and an earth wire.
    It Ain't Over Til Its NOVA - 634ci of S*#t Your Pants!

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Quote Originally Posted by chevyfireball
    You want to make sure you have the replacement wiring for the trigger that MSD came up with a while back. It has shielded wiring and an earth wire.
    Not needed .. msd just wanted to make more money

  8. #8
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    504

    RFI is possible but..........

    If you happen to have the wires reversed from the trigger, meaning that the purple is not matched with the purple all the way to the IGN that WILL cause misfire. I had a pre-made wire from MSD that was backwards and I missed it. I had to adjust 10 deg difference from the correct wiring orientation and that should have made me check it then, but even with the correction in timing I had a high speed miss something awful.
    As for the shielded cable, They are very useful if you are any where near your coil power leads or other current draws. The shield eliminates RFI that the two wires are very receptive to picking up.
    Check the wires pal, otherwise the sensor is likely bad.
    Bruce

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE BEAST477's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,908
    Thanks guys, I'll check all those things and let you know what I find. Won't be till next weekend since we're not racing this weekend.
    BEAST477






    Only a rich man can afford to use cheap parts.

    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/177549

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE BEAST477's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,908
    I checked my gap and it is between .050-.055. My guess is that the sensor is failing.
    BEAST477






    Only a rich man can afford to use cheap parts.

    http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/177549


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy