Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: going from 4150 to a dom

  1. #1
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    alberta,canada
    Posts
    166

    going from 4150 to a dom

    I have a sbc 383 which has a holley 4150 reworked which has around 950 cfm the venturis are 1.42 and the base plate is throttle bore is 1.750 and off my dyno sheet and my 1/4 numbers from my 1/8 mile numbers i need a bigger carb

    yesterday run example 1/8 time..........6.363 sec
    1/4 mile ..........10.12 sec

    i have a friend that is going to lend me his 1050 dominator and my question is should i run the same jets as i have in smaller carb now and how about air bleeds............thanks in advance guys

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    664
    I have always ran a 1050 on all small blocks.

    Its a short clip, but in the first portion of this video you'see the truck running on gas using a 1050,

    As you will see from the exhaust, its not running rich at all, no black puff of smoke

    http://www.racingjunk.com/video_gallery/60574

    You shoud not have a problem at all.

    This was a flat top 350, good set of heads w/ lots of work and a 5 something lift cam, 2" exhaust. It wasn't much. With the little 142 blower it ran 10.10's. Without the blower it ran 10.70's

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    No, the metering is different on the carbs. Is it a factory Holley, if so, what model #?
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    664
    Also if your going from a 4150 series carb to a dominator you will need a dominator flanged intake..

  5. #5
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clawson, Mi.
    Posts
    72

    Carb change

    Well, here is what I would do, I would put the stock box size jets in it, turn all the idle screws in until they stop and then back them all out 1.5 turns, turn your idle screw out until it is off the throttle, then turn it back in until it just touches it, and turn that in up to 2 turns and that should get you running at idle, thenreadjust from there to your idle you may have had before. Is this a 3 circuit car??? If so, you should have no problem with this carb running. Make sure it has the jet extensions, notched flaot in the back bowl and make sure it is clean inside and out. After you hook it up, make sure you have full throttle fill the bowls up and go like hell

    x2 on the adapter also.
    Being different is the difference between us all.
    Rest in Peace my friend Doug Cunningham 1963-2008

  6. #6
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    alberta,canada
    Posts
    166
    The carb i have now is actually a 850 cfm holley with a proform 950 body but my carb guy has reworked the carb so the venturies are bigger but still to small for my car off of numbers the car runs especially in the top end and on the dyno..........i have jet extensions and notched floats and yes when i borrow ny buddys dom 1050 i will check it out ..........not sure if it is a 3 circuit carb or 2 as i don't have it in my hands yet........i also bought a adatper for a dom car b to a 4150 style my intake is............right now i am running front jets #82 with power valve and back #88 with no power valves...........i know i am falling off in the top end and not sure how to jet when i put on the dom carb if i should go bigger or leave the same and the same with the air bleeds..............thanks

    here is a video of the car
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlNsixubZxs

  7. #7
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    alberta,canada
    Posts
    166
    I phoned holley today to get their opinion on running a dominator instead of a holley 4150 and going up to a 1050 cfm on my motor..........well this is what he told me that that carb would kill my motor that i need a 4150 750 cfm carb..........well i couldn't argue with him as he was set..........i have my dyno numbers and it is showing in the top end that the car is running out of carb and also from my 1/8 mile times to my 1/4 times there is something wacko...........he then told me that probably my fuel system wasn't delivering enough fuel or i needed more jet............. i can post my dyno numbers

    rpm torque hp manvac hg

    4900 510 480 .81
    5000 516 494 .84
    5100 521 509 .93
    5200 522 515 .95
    5300 525 523 .98
    5400 518 531 1.01
    5500 516 541 1.05
    5600 513 548 1.08
    5700 510 553 1.11
    5800 507 560 1.15
    5900 504 566 1.19
    6000 501 572 1.23
    6100 496 576 1.27
    6200 495 584 1.31
    6300 490 587 1.35
    6400 484 590 1.37
    6500 476 592 1.40
    6600 472 594 1.40
    6700 466 595 1.41
    6800 457 592 1.43
    6900 449 590 1.45
    7000 441 588 1.47

    give me your thoughts guys and thanks in advance

  8. #8
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Napier, New Zealand
    Posts
    230
    I would agree with the Holley guy. 1050 is way too big for a 383ci. Too many guys make the mistake of going too big on the carb. I ran a 1050 on my 572ci after finding an 1150 too big. Check your fuel delivery.
    It Ain't Over Til Its NOVA - 634ci of S*#t Your Pants!

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belleville, IL
    Posts
    658
    How do you know it's the carb? Might be cam or heads?

    I wouldn't run a 950 or 1050 on a 383. Not unless we're talking about 15:1 and a .750 cam with little chief heads.

    At 8000 RPM and 100% VE, that motor is only going to use 887 CFM at most.

    At 80% VE, it's only going to need 710 CFM.

    The 4150 carb you have now is plenty.

    From 6500 to 7000 the power flattens out and the torque drops. What cam/heads/intake are on it?
    -WJ Birmingham

    OneBadGMC.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lost Creek, WV
    Posts
    533
    Quote Originally Posted by OneBadGMC
    How do you know it's the carb? Might be cam or heads?

    I wouldn't run a 950 or 1050 on a 383. Not unless we're talking about 15:1 and a .750 cam with little chief heads.

    At 8000 RPM and 100% VE, that motor is only going to use 887 CFM at most.

    At 80% VE, it's only going to need 710 CFM.

    The 4150 carb you have now is plenty.

    From 6500 to 7000 the power flattens out and the torque drops. What cam/heads/intake are on it?
    X2...My 434 @ 7500 only requires a 941 cfm carb & I have 950 Barry Grant on it. JMO

    TS1955


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy