Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: MSD & a two step

  1. #1
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lost Creek, WV
    Posts
    533

    MSD & a two step

    Just curious on how many racers use a two step for a launch control & how many use it as a safety device, putting in a chip that's a little above your convertor stall?...I personally use it as a saftey device. What do you do?

    TS1955

  2. #2
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    launch control, more consistent this way for sure.
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE curtisreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    KIEFER, OK.
    Posts
    1,309
    I use a three step, burnout, starting line, and high side.

    Curtis

  4. #4
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Red Deer, AB Canada
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by doorracer
    I use a three step, burnout, starting line, and high side.

    Curtis
    X 2

  5. #5
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lost Creek, WV
    Posts
    533
    I've never had a problem with being consistant, 60ft times don't vary much. Except when I used to Super Gas race with a Chevy Monza with a 12 bolt rear and I chucked a rearend on the starting line...60 ft sucked on that pass. Now they vary from track to track a little. I feel a 2 or 3 step is hard on the engine. JMO


    TS1955

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143

    Re: MSD & a two step

    Quote Originally Posted by TS1955
    I personally use it as a saftey device. What do you do?

    TS1955
    what are you safeguarding against??? don't say over revving please....I mean you have the high end limiter to keep the motor together what is the purpose of limiting just past the converter?

  7. #7
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Quote Originally Posted by TS1955
    I've never had a problem with being consistant, 60ft times don't vary much. Except when I used to Super Gas race with a Chevy Monza with a 12 bolt rear and I chucked a rearend on the starting line...60 ft sucked on that pass. Now they vary from track to track a little. I feel a 2 or 3 step is hard on the engine. JMO


    TS1955
    how consistent is it ?

    fluid temps changes, fluid gets thinner when it gets hot and the stall changes, meaning it could go from (example) 1.20 to 1.21-1.215
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lost Creek, WV
    Posts
    533
    I'll answer Tods question first. As long as you have your tranny brake activated and you are on the "low" side of the two step, the high side chip doesn't function. So if by chance you come up on the converter and it breaks, you have NO safe guard. Unless you have a chip in the low side.
    When I used to Super Gas race I would leave the line at what ever the converter would stall at for reaction time. I got used to it and haven't changed. Hope this helps.

    And hammertime my 60 ft will vary about .01-.015 about the same as yours.

    TS1955

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Quote Originally Posted by TS1955

    And hammertime my 60 ft will vary about .01-.015 about the same as yours.

    TS1955
    That was an example above, you should start using a 2 step and tighten them up. mine last time out went from 1.128-1.130 it moves much more then this its time for tires or something else on my car.
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Quote Originally Posted by TS1955
    I'll answer Tods question first. As long as you have your tranny brake activated and you are on the "low" side of the two step, the high side chip doesn't function. So if by chance you come up on the converter and it breaks, you have NO safe guard. Unless you have a chip in the low side.
    When I used to Super Gas race I would leave the line at what ever the converter would stall at for reaction time. I got used to it and haven't changed. Hope this helps.

    And hammertime my 60 ft will vary about .01-.015 about the same as yours.

    TS1955

    I get it....seems obvious now that you explained it. I didn't think about the high side being shut off while the button was in....duh.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy