Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MSD Chips

  1. #1

    MSD Chips

    I've got a 6AL for a 4 cylinder Mod 4 Ford 2300 engine. It has a rev limiter chip in it but does not have a chip specifying 4 cylinders. I was thinking that it needs that. If it does where can I find one? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rifle Colorado
    Posts
    585
    Your 6al should be set for four cyls. The chips are the same for all.

  3. #3
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    VA Hospital, Dallas, Tx (214 302 1924) cell-972-464-7400
    Posts
    540
    The Revv Chip is really only a plug in resistor of a certain value.
    Number of cylinders means nothing to the chip.

    Ed
    " Let all things that hath breath, praise the Lord. Praise Ye the Lord" Psalms 150 vs 6.

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    There is no difference as Ed said an MSD chip is nothing more than a resistor like what you can buy at Radio Shack. Before the digital boxes I made rotary dial two step boxes, the two step was nothing more than a relay to switch between resistors for a rev limiter and a low side for the brake. I built a couple different ones, one with a rotary switch with progressive resistance values to increase or decrease RPM as needed and the other with potentiometers which are variable resistors. I also got the resistance so I could set the low side below 3000 RPM which was the lowest chip MSD had at the time.
    Mark Whitener
    http://racingfuelsystems.myfunforum.org
    __________

    Good work isn't cheap, and cheap work can't be good.

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Quote Originally Posted by johnracer
    Your 6al should be set for four cyls. The chips are the same for all.
    I agree you need to set it for the 4 cylinder, if I remember right one of the boxes has a few different looped wires coming off the side and you cut the one for the 4 cylinder
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    558
    Its either cut one or cut two of them, Call msd!!!! or see THE instructions, LOL David

  7. #7
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    winner sd
    Posts
    196
    when all else fails, follow instructions is my motto

  8. #8
    Senior Member SENIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington , New Zealand
    Posts
    122
    Blue wire


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy