Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: spark plug wires

  1. #1
    Junior Member APPRENTICE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lehigh Acres, Fl.
    Posts
    24

    spark plug wires

    My dad and I put new wires on our 67 camaro, he left ordering wires up to me, I called Jegs and told salesman what I had (BBC-MSD7al2-ect..) and we agreed on a set of Taylor wires. We put them on and everything was good for a couple of races, then after the 3rd weekend-3rd round of eleminations the car was huffing raw fuel and black smoke out the exhaust, it was terrible, we fought this gremlin for weeks, getting pissed and walking away for a few days at a time :evil: , my dad was convinced it was the carb (AED) so he sent it to them and it came back ok, in the mean time we tried a diff carb and it did the same thing. I checked coil, msd box, dist, cap-rotor all good, other advice was way off base, finally I tested wires with an ohmn meter (never done that before) something was not right, bottom line wires were solid core :shock: , put some new msd wires on it and its all good now. ???why did they work for a short time ???
    hard lesson learned btw my dad was so convinced it was the carb he even bought a new one and it did the same thing :roll:

  2. #2
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Leonard, Texas
    Posts
    414
    Sometimes the soild core wires will interfere with the electronics and cause misfires.
    'A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.'

    Thomas Jefferson


    http://www.adinms.com/sitebuildercon...junkresize.jpg

  3. #3
    Junior Member APPRENTICE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lehigh Acres, Fl.
    Posts
    24
    no miss fire idled good ran good just was not burning fuel ET was off about .04-.05

  4. #4
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colebrook Connecticut
    Posts
    425
    I had nothing but problems with taylor wires in the past

  5. #5
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Coldwater, MI
    Posts
    2,998
    Did you have them tied together in any way ? I started using the Moroso Ultra 40 wires last year, more money up front but last longer.
    David Lanning
    IHRA NHRA 387B

    Fleenor Racing Transmission
    419-280-1406
    Lanning Electric
    Complete Drag Car Wiring
    APD Race Engines
    www.apdracing.com

  6. #6
    Junior Member APPRENTICE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lehigh Acres, Fl.
    Posts
    24
    the wires that failed were solid core-not msd compatible, they had no resistance with ohmn meter

    I would like to know why they worked fine at first, why werent they a problem when we first put them on?

  7. #7
    Senior Member DYNO TECH
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Leonard, Texas
    Posts
    414
    Did you get any good passes with them on? I have been running the Accel 8.8's under header style, with the high temp covers. Never had one problem with them.
    'A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.'

    Thomas Jefferson


    http://www.adinms.com/sitebuildercon...junkresize.jpg

  8. #8
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    558
    Taylers SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! moroso's 40ohms per ft, msd 50ohms per ft. use em, I have and get GREAT LIFE OUT OF EM taylers worked at first because they were new! JUNK, JUNK,. dAVID,

  9. #9
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    La.
    Posts
    2,890

    wires

    Truth is that you cannot succefully, run solid core wires on any MSD system, they have to be spirial wrap wires, no matter who's brand you select. In fact you're lucky it didn't eat the MSD box, i did in the 80's from trying that with Taylor wires.
    Spirial wrap period on MSD system.

    JMO

    Zip.

  10. #10
    Member JUNIOR BUILDER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bedford, Ohio
    Posts
    86
    Agree, TAYLOR=Junk. Also, good point about making sure wires are not tied together. I see people tying wires together all the time, even good wires tend to arc when they get super hot, a little splash of moisture/oil.
    A few months ago, my buddy's new accel (8mm i think) tied together, ran fine 1st heat, by the end of the feature he had high rpm miss. Just cutting the ties (no visible damage) cleared things up.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy