Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: need converter

  1. #1
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    waynesburg, ky
    Posts
    217

    need converter

    i have a 68 camaro backhalf car all steal. running a pump gas 496 with a 350 turbo the trans was in the car when i got it. i was told it had 3000 converter in it will push through the lights at 2100 or 2200. here i thought that a 3000 would stall higher with my 496 its making 592 hp. i do drive the car on the street from time to time. coming off the line at 2000 i did get a 1.50 60' i want to come off around 4000. somebody tell me about what i need. the torque on the motor was a little over 600 cant recall exact #

  2. #2
    Senior Member DYNO OPERATOR
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    525
    You need a trans brake to get up to your full stall of your converter. You will also need a new converter if you want to stall to 4000. And also make sure you have good parts in your Turbo 350 if your going to stall it that high.
    Wesley
    60' 1.30
    5.58 @ 127.89

  3. #3
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,143
    Call COAN or another converter manufacturer and talk to them.Give them all the info you have about your motor and car and have one built.You will be glad you did. Expensive but well worth it. I broke two 10 inch street converters at 300 bucks each before I wised up and bought a good one.

  4. #4
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,044
    I highly recomend one of transmission specialties spragless race converters, they are virtually indestuctable.
    They can custom build you one for your application, just call them up and tell them your specs and they will get the perfect converter for your set-up, also they offer a free re-tweak if needed within 90 days of purchase.
    Here's a link to their site.


    http://www.transmission-specialties....hp?cPath=23_43
    ***IN GOD WE TRUST***

  5. #5
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    waynesburg, ky
    Posts
    217
    you cant run a spragless converter on the street can you? i do drive mine on the street some

  6. #6
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,044
    I dont see why not, its acts the same as a coverter with a sprag , they just eliminated the troublesome sprag assembly and made it work without it.
    If you wanted to know for sure call T/S and talk to a tech and they could set you up and tell you the in and outs of converters and street use.


    Transmission Specialties, Inc.

    375 Turner Industrial Way

    Aston, PA 19014

    Phone (610) 485-9110

    FAX (610) 485-9356
    ***IN GOD WE TRUST***

  7. #7
    Senior Member MASTER BUILDER
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    waynesburg, ky
    Posts
    217
    ok thanks

  8. #8
    Senior Member RACING JUNKIE jmarksdragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    635
    Don't run a spragless on the street. Race cars with transbrakes only.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Email us - Support@RacingJunk.com
Call us - 866.326.9227
Copyright © 2005-2016 RacingJunk.com All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the RacingJunk.com
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy